Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28-04-2006, 01:41 PM   #61
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Quote:
This box: AMD cpu 500 MHz, 128 MB RAM, voodoo 5 graphics 32 MB ...

15 other boxes (including an IBM PS/1 with 12" Monitor (80286 cpu, 2 MB RAM)
3 Laptops (Compaq)
Wow. Now that's a collection.

Natas, I think that you really deserve a custom title for that. Hardware God or something like it.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2006, 09:06 PM   #62
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

Agreeed.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2006, 12:08 AM   #63
natas
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by _r.u.s.s.+Apr 28 2006, 02:01 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (_r.u.s.s. @ Apr 28 2006, 02:01 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>you should make photo or something=P[/b]

Oh, I can follow your wish, but it doesn't look that great as you might think. The computers are spread over 3 rooms and there's nothing special (like modding) about them. My work room looks terrible disordered. Instead of pictures I have cables, mainboards and other computer parts hanging on the walls. I have enough parts flying around to build about 3 or 4 more running computers and lots of software and manuals. It looks a little like a computer shop, but it isn't.

For taking a picture Im would have to clean up before that and this is not done in 5 minutes.

Quote:
Originally posted by The Niles@Apr 28 2006, 10:55 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by natas@Apr 27 2006, 08:16 PM
If I add my Mhz(es) I might have more cpu power than any of you ...* :bleh:
My AMD64 3400+ alone can rip anything you have to screds .
This was some sort of joke ... But if I had to choose between your deep flying power machine and five 500 MHz boxes, I would choose the 5.

<!--QuoteBegin-The Niles
@Apr 28 2006, 10:55 AM

I also have a nice collection of old junk lying around but only some are hooked up.
[/quote]
How can you call that old junk? Due to the problems most of you have getting the old goodies to run, many of you would be glad for having at least one old junk computer ...

I guess there is a reason you still have that junk. Do you eventually need it for playing old games?
natas is offline                         Send a private message to natas
Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2006, 05:06 AM   #64
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

Old computers are not junk they are special and antiques.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2006, 11:00 AM   #65
The Niles
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 1,578
Default

I know you were joking and so was I. In all seriousness though, one AMD64 3400+ IS more powerfull then five P3 500's.

I call it old junk because it is, it is not worth anything anymore and most of it is here because it would cost me money to get rid of it. Sure you can still use it but only for things from the past. I am able to run most everything in DOSBox so I don't need an old computer besides my current one.

Not that I'm lamenting you. If you are as happy with your setup as I am with mine that is great.
__________________
Rabyd Rev -- 2 Timothy 2:15
The Niles is offline                         Send a private message to The Niles
Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2006, 05:34 PM   #66
Stebbi
Game Wizzard

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hofudborgarsvadi, Iceland
Posts: 206
Default

damn no more pic!
Stebbi is offline                         Send a private message to Stebbi
Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2006, 07:45 PM   #67
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

Hey your image is not showing up make it a thumb nail.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2006, 12:47 AM   #68
LotharGR
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by natas@Apr 27 2006, 08:16 PM


This box: AMD cpu 500 MHz, 128 MB RAM, voodoo 5 graphics 32 MB ...
Voodoo 5 ? I suppose you mean Voodoo 5000. Whatever you do with your computer, dont throw this piece away. One day it may became collectable
LotharGR is offline                         Send a private message to LotharGR
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2006, 10:04 PM   #69
natas
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LotharGR+Apr 30 2006, 01:47 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (LotharGR @ Apr 30 2006, 01:47 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>
Quote:
Originally posted by natas@Apr 27 2006, 08:16 PM


This box: AMD cpu 500 MHz, 128 MB RAM, voodoo 5 graphics 32 MB ...
Voodoo 5 ? I suppose you mean Voodoo 5000.[/b]

I just rebooted (for you) to have a look at the BIOS display of the card, it says:

3dfx voodoo 5 5500, 64 MB.

It has two 3D chips, I think it was the biggest card 3dfx build before they were bought by ATI.

<!--QuoteBegin-LotharGR
@Apr 30 2006, 01:47 AM
Whatever you do with your computer, dont throw this piece away. One day it may became collectable
[/quote]
Yes, I know that ...
natas is offline                         Send a private message to natas
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 08:30 AM   #70
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

Cool that must be rare then.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 02:27 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.