Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-03-2007, 06:31 AM   #1
Plato89
Newbie

 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ,
Posts: 4
Default

Hey all, new person here. I recently tried downloading UFO: Enemy Unknown several times onto my laptop, and each time when I brought up the zip file I got a screensaver pack. While I like the screensavers, I still haven't gotten the game. I really enjoy this game, I remember playing this back in elementary school, and I still want to play it! If it helps anyone with figuring this out, I'm running Windows XP. If getting a DOS emulator program would alleviate this problem, please show me where I can get one. I need a little refresher on DOS language, its been years since I've used it.


Also, on another note, I also tried installing Master of Magic, another childhood favorite, and I couldn't get it to install. It gave me an error message on installation.

I would really appreciate any help I can get with this! Thanks alot!


Paul
Plato89 is offline                         Send a private message to Plato89
Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2007, 12:06 PM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Quote:
and each time when I brought up the zip file I got a screensaver pack.[/b]
1. Are you sure you're opening the right archive?
2. What exact files does the archive contain?
3. Did you download it from Abandonia or elsewhere?

Quote:
If getting a DOS emulator program would alleviate this problem, please show me where I can get one.[/b]
There is a DOS emulator (or, more correctly, a 486/DOS emulator) called DosBox.
You can download it here. It will definitely remedy your problems with Master of Magic.
I recommend you check the official DosBox FAQ, and particularly this part of it. It is quite helpful for users unfamiliar with DosBox.

Quote:
I need a little refresher on DOS language, its been years since I've used it.[/b]
A list of basic commands can be found in the DosBox' readme file. Make sure to read it, because you'll also need several that never were part of the real DOS command set.
You can automate certain things by editing the [autoexec] portion of Dosbox.conf (it works just like Autoexec.bat in true DOS), and it is possible to install Norton Commander on it (you can get it from our programs and utilities page - scroll down to the bottom to find it) for more convenient usage.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2007, 12:27 PM   #3
GigaBass
Newbie

 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ,
Posts: 2
Default

Hey.
you mean the zip file you open just shows a screensaver?
Where did you download the game from? Abandonia?
Well I just re-downloaded it to make sure it's good and yeah. Anyway, if you downloaded it from abandonia (XP version), extract it to some folder and just open one of the two exes, "UFO defense.exe" or "UFO.exe". I don't know neither's difference, but on mine only UFO.exe works.
If on your computer when going to any missions the game gives an error and closes, you'll have to go for the DOS version, which's link can be found at the bottom of the page of UFO:Enemy unknown. After that you'll need
the DOSBox emulator, which is found here:

http://sourceforge.net/project/downloading...e_mirror=switch

This version is the latest, which I used for a while, but for me, it doesn't provide any sound for me (a bug or something on my computer, dunno|), so a while ago I changed to version .65 .

Link to downloade DOSBox 0.65:
http://sourceforge.net/project/downloading...xe&49429650

Which on my computer the sound works fine.

So, say you extract the DOS version of the game to C:\UFO , after installing DOSBox, you should add some lines to the config, just to ease it's use.

(You can skip this part and have everything done manually when you start dosbox, but it's boring and I'm lazy :P)

To access it go to start menu, all programs, DOSBox-0.65(or 0.70), and click on the dosbox.conf . Then, head to the last part, see this:?

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.

Now here, you can input the commands you want dosbox to execute when it opens automatically, I got:

mount d d:\UFO\Xcom
d:
ufocd

Mount so the drive becomes "accessible", then it'll do d: to the FOLDER it is mounted to. SO if you do dir while on drive d: you'll see the folder d:\UFO\Xcom! (Basically, it says the computer that dive d: is d:\UFO\Xcom) Then dosbox will execute the exe I use to play the game, "ufocd". I'm not very used to games having so many bats/exes, but it seems starting the game from either works, some exes/bats work, some others do not. Basically just try every one of them till you find one that works good! If you wanna remind yourself of some DOS commands:


To change folder: cd foldername
To go back one folder or directory: cd ..
To open an exe, bat, or similar: filename

That's all you need to know, I think.

UFO:Enemy unknown rules!

Btw, dunno about Master Magic! So far only tried this game...
GigaBass is offline                         Send a private message to GigaBass
Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2007, 07:53 PM   #4
Plato89
Newbie

 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ,
Posts: 4
Default

I got the file from Abandonia, clicked the red button and saved the zip file. Everytime I tried to zip it, it gave me the screensavers, so I'm not sure I'm zipping the right thing or something else.

Thank you both so much! I just installed DOSBox, now I'm gonna attempt a DOS version of XCOM/UFO.

The DOS language is coming back to me now. I learned it when I was six years old, pretty nostalgic for me.

One more thing, just for kicks, whats the best hex editor program to use? I found some codes to alter the game (like for instance embelzzle the world for like 1.62 billion dollars or something, and also changing the values of stuff in the game) and I wanna try them out. I don't have much experience with the hexidecimal code or hex editors, when I edited my game years ago it was easy enough to do, the code was supplied.

Thanks again y'all,

Paul


EDIT: [five minutes later] SUCCESS!!!!!! I have UFO now!!! Thank you all so much! It feels so good to get something right for once!
Plato89 is offline                         Send a private message to Plato89
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 04:09 PM   #5
Lord Bloedsinn
Guest
Default

Hi there, folks.
I have some problems with this game, too. Concerning the speed of the game itself. In the Geoscope screen time passes to fast. Instead of 5 game seconds in one real second he counts nearly 5 minutes. I tried to slow down DOS BOX with Control + F10 but it didn't work. Anyone got an idea?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 04:35 PM   #6
Luchsen
Lurking Forever
 
Luchsen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bad Konig, Germany
Posts: 3,565
Default

QUOTE(Lord Bloedsinn @ Apr 8 2007, 05:09 PM) [snapback]286462[/snapback]
Quote:
I tried to slow down DOS BOX with Control + F10 but it didn't work.
[/b]
Ctrl+F11. Ctrl+F10 is capture/release the mouse.
__________________
Luchsen is offline                         Send a private message to Luchsen
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 05:27 PM   #7
Guest
Guest
Default

Sorry, you're right. F11 is to slow down. For everyone else who has similar problems: Control + F11 works, but in the DOS BOX version I recently downloaded the .config file had a very low rate of changing (0,2%) so i didn't see any changes after pressing 10 times this button. Thanks for your help.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 10:03 AM   #8
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

What's the problem?
Just change the cycleup and cycledown settings to something more significant - like 500 or even 1000 cycles.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X-com 1/ Ufo: Enemy Unknown Giga Troubleshooting 18 24-03-2007 12:18 AM
Ufo:enemy Unknown seder Troubleshooting 1 20-02-2007 09:39 AM
Ufo Enemy Unknown Hopkins Troubleshooting 6 22-09-2005 09:57 PM
Can't Run Ufo: Enemy Unknown Niall Cosgrach Troubleshooting 4 19-09-2005 12:28 AM
UFO - Enemy Unknown JoM General compatibility fixes 41 14-12-2004 03:33 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 07:25 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.