Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting > General compatibility fixes
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30-08-2007, 03:58 AM   #1
rabadi
New(bie) Kid on the Linux Users' Block
 
rabadi's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Irving, United States
Posts: 499
Default

DOSBox Portable, a version of DOSBox that you can install on USB, was released a few days ago:
http://portableapps.com/apps/games/dosbox_portable

I just thought that you guys might like it. No affiliation whatsoever with the maker. Mods, feel free to remove this post if necessary.
rabadi is offline                         Send a private message to rabadi
Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2007, 06:57 PM   #2
mirrorshades
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wright Pat, United States
Posts: 30
Default

Hm... I've been running DOSBox on my USB drive for a while now. :)

Here's a posting about it on the DOSBox forums (at VOGONS):

http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=16540
mirrorshades is offline                         Send a private message to mirrorshades
Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 10:20 AM   #3
Morrin
Underground
 
Morrin's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Iisalmi, Finland
Posts: 416
Default

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(mirrorshades @ Aug 30 2007, 05:57 PM) [snapback]307842[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
Hm... I've been running DOSBox on my USB drive for a while now.

Here's a posting about it on the DOSBox forums (at VOGONS):

http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=16540
[/b]
Someone mentioned somewhere that you need U3 (or was it 3U) memory card. Is this just mambo jambo or can I use the ordinary USB memory?

ps. those U3 thingies are damn annoying btw
Morrin is offline                         Send a private message to Morrin
Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 10:52 AM   #4
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Works fine on my extremely cheap 2Gigs USB stick (Doesn't even have a brand name).
And I can really not think of any reason why it should be otherwise.

I mean, do you suppose the app will check what brand your sticky is????

And you always can simply copy the dosbox folder to your stick. Works fine.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 11:11 AM   #5
Morrin
Underground
 
Morrin's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Iisalmi, Finland
Posts: 416
Default

Thought so.

I will propably put dosbox and firefox to my stick so I don't have to use this slow IE7 at work.
Morrin is offline                         Send a private message to Morrin
Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 09:37 PM   #6
Burger Meister
Om Teh Nom Noms
 
Burger Meister's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: North Bay, Canada
Posts: 308
Default

Added link to dosbox download links sticky. Thanks for the heads up on it!
Burger Meister is offline                         Send a private message to Burger Meister
Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 09:46 PM   #7
KevinTMC
Newbie

 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ,
Posts: 3
Default

I'm running it on my USB hard drive (no fancy U3/3U/3D/3M/whatever involved). Works like a champ so far. You can even edit the config file so DOSBos automatically mounts your DOS games directory on the portable drive when it starts...no matter what drive letter it's been assigned.

These Portable versions are very good. I've been using Portable Firefox and Thunderbird for some time on my USB hard drive.
KevinTMC is offline                         Send a private message to KevinTMC
Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2008, 09:07 AM   #8
rabadi
New(bie) Kid on the Linux Users' Block
 
rabadi's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Irving, United States
Posts: 499
Default

DOSBox Portable 0.72 Revision 2 Released
rabadi is offline                         Send a private message to rabadi
Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2008, 06:28 PM   #9
Sturmrabe
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Milton, United States
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinTMC View Post
You can even edit the config file so DOSBos automatically mounts your DOS games directory on the portable drive when it starts...no matter what drive letter it's been assigned.
.
Post plz! I'd like to set that up myself
Sturmrabe is offline                         Send a private message to Sturmrabe
Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2008, 10:47 PM   #10
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

...
Of course you realize this topic is half a year old?
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Portable Command Line Audio Converter? JJXB Tech Corner 4 21-07-2007 12:08 PM
Portable Scummvm M@tty Programming 5 26-05-2007 09:10 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 02:50 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.