Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30-05-2011, 07:32 PM   #1
BranjoHello
Skilled WormMaster
 
BranjoHello's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Stara Pazova, Serbia and Montenegro
Posts: 583
Default Evil Islands LOW FPS

So, I'm playing Evil Islands, I like it, seems like very good RPG but the frame rate is awful, almost masochistic to play (falls down to 3fps sometimes).
I have dual core procesor and GeForce 450 so I shouldn't have problem with game from 2001. On Windows 7 I tried all resolutions, turning all effects off, and all the compatibilty options on game icon. Nothing helped.

Does anyone have an idea how to make this work better?
__________________
I'm just G@mer4Life!!!
Life is tricky, it doesn't have "Load Game"!

BranjoHello is offline                         Send a private message to BranjoHello
Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2011, 03:32 AM   #2
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

You might have a dual core but what is the speed of both of them?

Old computer programs were never designed to use two cores. All the core requests are routed to a single core even though you have two of them. If it is not fast enough it might be why the game run so slow.

On the other hand, I don't know that game. Is it a "new" game or it is an oldie that you are trying to run which could have issues running on your new machine?
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2011, 07:42 AM   #3
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

It's a 2001 game... hardware requirements laughable even under 2004 standards.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 12:35 AM   #4
BranjoHello
Skilled WormMaster
 
BranjoHello's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Stara Pazova, Serbia and Montenegro
Posts: 583
Default

Also, when I alt+tab and then return to game it runs normal just as it should but after 10 seconds it start slowing down again.
__________________
I'm just G@mer4Life!!!
Life is tricky, it doesn't have "Load Game"!

BranjoHello is offline                         Send a private message to BranjoHello
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 10:33 PM   #5
der yogi
Guest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BranjoHello View Post
So, I'm playing Evil Islands, I like it, seems like very good RPG but the frame rate is awful, almost masochistic to play (falls down to 3fps sometimes).
I have dual core procesor and GeForce 450 so I shouldn't have problem with game from 2001. On Windows 7 I tried all resolutions, turning all effects off, and all the compatibilty options on game icon. Nothing helped.

Does anyone have an idea how to make this work better?
Patch 1.05 regelt: http://www.4players.de/4players.php/...load/1367.html
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 11:39 PM   #6
BranjoHello
Skilled WormMaster
 
BranjoHello's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Stara Pazova, Serbia and Montenegro
Posts: 583
Default

I'm already playing v1.06.

So far only one solutions works it doesn't make any sense but it works.
When I'm downloading sometnihg in FireFox and run the game, it works perfect.
I tried just to have open window in FireFox without downloading but that brings the same old hiccup situation.
WACKY INDEED!
__________________
I'm just G@mer4Life!!!
Life is tricky, it doesn't have "Load Game"!

BranjoHello is offline                         Send a private message to BranjoHello
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2011, 12:42 AM   #7
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

this stuff happened to me with one game when i had winamp running

try closing every possible unnecessary process
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2011, 11:09 AM   #8
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

What Russ just said reminds me of a game I bought one day... It was very much like Sim City but it focused on classes in your town rather than building a city.

Anyways, every time I started the game with ZA in the background, the game froze and refused to work. When I disabled ZA, it worked fine... And when I went to the game forum to tell them they missed something important, they were adamant that programs like firewalls were really not necessary to run games and that I should disable it anyways. Nevermind it was one of the most popular free firewall around and that a game which can't work because a firewall block it is simply not a good game? I was pretty suspicious it had to do with the fact that the game was trying to reach the 'net too...

Anyways... All that to say that you never know what can happen with some games, so that's good advice.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rainbow Islands [NON-PC] Paco Invalid Requests 0 02-02-2010 03:06 PM
NetStorm - Islands at War Professor Oak N 2 03-12-2009 02:46 PM
Netstorm - Islands At War Kosta Games Discussion 103 01-12-2009 05:07 PM
Pacific Islands sgt912 Approved Requests 6 12-11-2009 06:47 PM
Bubble Bobble also featuring Rainbow Islands iamsensay Approved Requests 22 05-08-2009 10:43 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:22 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.