Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-03-2007, 12:40 PM   #11
Himmler
Trollmaster General
 
Himmler's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 1,021
Default

hey hey hey..what's up mofo?
Himmler is offline                         Send a private message to Himmler
Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2007, 05:28 PM   #12
Hadiel
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 53
Default

Possible but not definitive.

Check if your cable is STRAIGHT or CROSSED.

To do so, Unplug the cable, hold both ends next to each other and check if the colors of the smaller cables are the same on both ends (straight) or if the colors are different (cross)
Hadiel is offline                         Send a private message to Hadiel
Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2007, 02:57 AM   #13
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

At least your network card actually has a status light. My old computers onboard one did not have one as it was onboard. So I was stuck on USB with my ADSL modem. It turned out it was turned off in the BIOS but I ened up getting a new pc and finding out later when I was enabling another feature.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2007, 11:59 PM   #14
MrBackAlleySka
Hero Gamer

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 461
Default

From what I can see, the wires in this cable are straight, none crossed at all. Why exactly?
MrBackAlleySka is offline                         Send a private message to MrBackAlleySka
Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2007, 08:10 AM   #15
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

That means that the cable is desgined to conmnect a computer to a modem or router. Not straight to another computer like crossovers are.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2007, 10:59 PM   #16
nitro
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nunspeet, Netherlands
Posts: 31
Default

What type of modem do you have exactly?
nitro is offline                         Send a private message to nitro
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems With X-com TheSheezie Troubleshooting 5 23-05-2007 03:50 PM
So What Have I Missed hanging Blah, blah, blah... 1 06-12-2006 06:50 AM
Has Anyone Had These Problems? WildZeppelin Troubleshooting 9 13-02-2006 03:25 AM
Ethernet Controller Yamcha Tech Corner 7 23-11-2004 02:54 PM
Problems X.x warder83 Troubleshooting 2 11-08-2004 06:05 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 09:21 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.