Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27-02-2011, 05:03 PM   #11
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by (Unregistered)CorSair View Post
Yes I do. Thought it would be self-evident to run game on dosbox, but it seems I was wrong. :P
You'd be surprised how many newcomers don't think so. That's why - unless they clearly state it before - this is the first question to ask.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2011, 11:33 PM   #12
Aramazon
Abandonia nerd
 
Aramazon's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by (Unregistered)CorSair View Post
This is bit odd, I tried to run game, but it crashes, and this error occurs:

Detection System Failed to find hardware at line 694, file soundmgr.cpp

So, what's the problem?
I just tested out the version provided in the download link and I managed to get the same error.

I found that using soundblaster on irq 7 made it work, but there was no sound in game.

I think it might have been taken out of the game to make the download size better. It's obviously missing the cut scenes throughout the campaign as well.

I'd suggest downloading the CD version from the .ISO cellar.

the CD version is missing the intro movie, but otherwise the sounds are there. You do need to mount the cd in Dosbox to your primary cd drive letter before starting the game, if you want to hear the music.

I'd suggest putting the .bin and .cue file into your Dos folder to make it easy...
then just type

imgmount e c:\dos\bam.cue -t iso -fs iso

or alternatively you could mount it onto a virtual drive and then mount that virtual drive as cd drive e in dosbox

mount e k:\ -t cdrom

in this case I used K:\ since that's my virtual drive, obviously replace that with your own. and the letter E should be the letter of your primary cd drive, it DOES MATTER!

For me when I mounted to drive d instead of e the cd music wouldn't play.
Aramazon is offline                         Send a private message to Aramazon
Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2011, 02:09 AM   #13
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Quote:
but that's like saying that other factors don't count at all. no matter what the graphics, sound, story, anything, only gameplay matters
That's pretty much the truth.

I have some videos on my PC. The graphics and sound are incredible. Does that make a game?

As simple as that. They are the medium, not the content.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 02:58 PM   #14
twillight
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
twillight's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Var, Hungary
Posts: 1,464
Default

Sadly the archive do not contains the cinematics - the only thing that'd make this game worthy to play.
__________________
Nothing has a meaning. You can't even say it has no meaning as that'd mean it has. - Godkiller, Defender of Anarchy
twillight is offline                         Send a private message to twillight
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 05:25 PM   #15
Aramazon
Abandonia nerd
 
Aramazon's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 68
Default

I think the only thing missing is the intro movie...it's an actual problem with the full version release of the game. But, I don't think there are any other movies in the game. You can watch the intro on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LRnrWFyPJ9g

Also, I haven't tried this, but apparently if you get the demo version and move the intro video file into your directory the intro will then show.
Aramazon is offline                         Send a private message to Aramazon
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 06:07 PM   #16
twillight
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
twillight's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Var, Hungary
Posts: 1,464
Default

The intro is included.

But there are cinematics for every quest, and for every side you choose inside every quest (3 cinematics for each quests in all), and those are all missing.
__________________
Nothing has a meaning. You can't even say it has no meaning as that'd mean it has. - Godkiller, Defender of Anarchy
twillight is offline                         Send a private message to twillight
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 07:07 PM   #17
Aramazon
Abandonia nerd
 
Aramazon's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 68
Default

Oh right, I've figured out your problem!

You downloaded straight from the review page...it's a 45 MB size file or so...

You want the version from the ISO cellar...it's 200 or so MB and has all the cinematics...except it's lacking the intro video...that's the version I played.

Like I said, if you pull the intro from the 45MB version you can have it all.

get JDownloader and then use that to download it from the following link:
http://www.4shared.com/dir/1lV-WPNB/BAM.html

Someone ought to make a note right at the top of the review:

"This version lacks cinematics to reduce file size. For the total package, go to the ISO cellar."
Aramazon is offline                         Send a private message to Aramazon
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 07:16 PM   #18
twillight
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
twillight's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Var, Hungary
Posts: 1,464
Default

ISOcellar isn't an option for me, sry. If it would, I'd never mention the above.
__________________
Nothing has a meaning. You can't even say it has no meaning as that'd mean it has. - Godkiller, Defender of Anarchy
twillight is offline                         Send a private message to twillight
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 07:24 PM   #19
Aramazon
Abandonia nerd
 
Aramazon's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twillight View Post
ISOcellar isn't an option for me, sry. If it would, I'd never mention the above.
PM me your email.
Aramazon is offline                         Send a private message to Aramazon
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 11:50 AM   #20
SomeoneWhosConfused
Guest
Default

I'm... actually having trouble with the following suggestion. Once I have the CD mounted in dosbox I can't install. I can't run it from the CD. And copying (and over-writing) the CD files to the main directory (Created by the non-iso version).

Is there any way to simply add the video files to the non-iso install once you've got it set up?
                       
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blood & Magic Paco B 3 25-08-2015 10:56 AM
Blood And Magic Petter1979 Approved Requests 23 05-08-2009 03:32 PM
Anyone up for Blood and Magic playing? FreeFreddy Forum Games 12 27-12-2004 12:29 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 03:31 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.