Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Gaming Zone
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Click here to use Advanced Search

Old 05-03-2014, 06:42 AM   #1
Maxaxle

Default Reaching out feelers for a very specific kind of game.

Before I go on, let me clarify:
1. I do NOT expect to actually find a game that fits my ridiculously strict criteria.
2. I DO expect to find SOMETHING at least mostly like what I'm looking for.
3. On the side, I'm hoping to develop a persistent GTA-style game that fits with my criteria. I have no idea what engine I'll use, but proofs of concept will most likely be done with the Blender engine. I'm not a developer, but I'm willing to learn and I've got plenty of spare time.

I am looking for a freeware, preferably open-source GTA-style game with PS1- or PS2-style graphics (full 3D in particular), half-decent AI, and at least five different cars and at least three different weapons. Multiplayer isn't a priority, but it would be nice.

Games I know of that I am NOT looking for:
-GTA1/GTA2. Technically PS1 graphics but way too basic; I'm looking for full 3D and the AI isn't great.
-Any remake of GTA1 or GTA2. Also technically PS1 graphics, but again, not full 3D, and usually no AI at all.
-TSS. No idea what the achronym stands for, but an AMAZING little probably-not-open-source, extremely basic GTA-style game. Lacks AI, for the most part, not persistent, and has zero weapons, so not what I'm looking for.
-APB Reloaded. I've been burned and burned again by this flaming turd of a game. Would be redeemable if not for the awful weapon balance, awful optimization, bland-yet-not-realistic car handling, and pay-to-win mechanics up the butt. As far as my criteria go, it's NOT freeware, it's NOT open-source, the graphics are too nice (for my purposes), and it's NOT persistent.