Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Today's Posts
Click here to use Advanced Search

Old 23-02-2007, 06:16 AM   #1
lukefromoz

sorry guys proberly wrong section for question but here it is anyway, how do i partision my system so i can run win 98 of this system aswell as my current winxp. what risk are there too my system from doing this as im not a computer expert (obviously otherwise i would need to ask) and how do you make the system load the windows of chopice up from start up?

If someone can just point me in the right direction that would be great, thanks guys (and girls ).
luke
lukefromoz is offline                         Send a private message to lukefromoz
Old 23-02-2007, 07:17 AM   #2
Icewolf
Il Lupone

Send a message via ICQ to Icewolf

Hm, I think you have to have two partitions on your harddisk. (that is easy)
And then you have to configure a bootloader. (this I have no clue of... )
You then can choose from what OS you want to boot.
Old 23-02-2007, 10:10 AM   #3
Iain
Lurker

It might be worth having a look at virtual pc (now a free download from microsoft) ... load windows 98 into the virtual pc running on your xp !!

Sounds complicated but is very easy .. its how I run the older games .. I have vm's (virtual machines) for dos, windows 98, etc ....

Iain
Iain is offline                         Send a private message to Iain
Old 23-02-2007, 10:37 AM   #4
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD

Virtual PC is an option, and one that works quite well.

Another is to install an extra hard drive that runs Windows 98.
That's what I did. This drive is not normally plugged in (no way it's going to be, with 80, 120 and 250 gb IDE drives plus a DVD recorder already taking up the entire IDE interface), but when I want to run 98 it's a child's play to unplug the other drives and plug this one in.

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards