Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2006, 01:02 PM   #1
NeVeR
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 10
Default

I've searched the forum and found no answer.

I have the game Lion. Everything works well except I dont have any sound. I tried with VDM sound but then it wont get in the game(after choosing a lion/pride) due to memory I guess.

Does anyone know where can I find the sounds or the whole game (again) but with sounds?

So..it's more of a question then request..Didn't know where to put it :whistle:
NeVeR is offline                         Send a private message to NeVeR
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 06:54 PM   #2
Frodo
One ring to rule them all...
 
Frodo's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 1,490
Default

Have you tried using DosBox? - http://www.abandonia.com/main.php?nav=programs

If that doesn't work, can you tell us more about your system? Do you use Win XP, Win 95, Dos etc? How much memory do you have?

k:
__________________
Please click on the baby dragon eggs to help them grow -














Frodo is offline                         Send a private message to Frodo
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 08:51 PM   #3
NeVeR
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 10
Default

Oh, yes. I can play it in DosBOX. But without sound it's just not it :not_ok:

I'm using WinXP, SP2, 2,5 GHz, 512 RAM. I'm not sure about conventional memory and such, but I think I have 640 KB...now is that Cache or whatever, I have no clue

If I try to use VDM sound(or however you spell it), I have to run it in Dos prompt, right?

And when I do that, I can enter the game, set the "campaign" and all and then when I press Enter to get in the actual gameplay, all I can see is a picture for..well..a long time

EDIT: Actualy, very soon after the random picture before the game, it thows me out to the promt. So I guess I dont have enough of memory
NeVeR is offline                         Send a private message to NeVeR
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 11:10 PM   #4
Frodo
One ring to rule them all...
 
Frodo's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 1,490
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NeVeR@Feb 4 2006, 09:51 PM
If I try to use VDM sound(or however you spell it), I have to run it in Dos prompt, right?
You should be able to use it in normal Windows XP.

If you right-click on the game exetuble, you should get the option then to use VDM Sound.



__________________
Please click on the baby dragon eggs to help them grow -














Frodo is offline                         Send a private message to Frodo
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 11:24 PM   #5
Master MC
Hero Gamer

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands
Posts: 403
Default

Please, please, post this in the appropriate place.
Master MC is offline                         Send a private message to Master MC
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 02:56 PM   #6
NeVeR
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 10
Default

Well....I asked if anyone knows where to get the sounds for the game or the version that has sound in it(underdogs one doesn't).
THe VDM sound question is just a plus :P
And thnx Frodo, I'll try


EDIT: Nope, No sound with VDM
NeVeR is offline                         Send a private message to NeVeR
Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2007, 08:28 AM   #7
skatc
Newbie

 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ,
Posts: 2
Default

I've heard several people say the HOTU version of Lion is simply missing the sound files. I haven't been able to verify this because I can't get it to run at all (it crashes Dosbox, and complains of not enough expanded mem when I run it through a winxp shortcut with plenty of expanded memory).

I think it would make a good addition to Abandonia if we could find a version of Lion with sound, and some instructions on getting it to run. With DOS games it seems the latter is almost as important as hosting the file itself.
skatc is offline                         Send a private message to skatc
Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2007, 07:36 PM   #8
kamiko
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Warszawa, Poland
Posts: 58
Default

I'm really glad that I've found "Wolf" on Abandonia
I hope that "Lion" will be added here as well (pretty please )
kamiko is offline                         Send a private message to kamiko
Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2007, 07:40 AM   #9
Icewolf
Il Lupone
 
Icewolf's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Teufelsbruck, Germany
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Icewolf
Default

QUOTE(Kamiko @ Apr 13 2007, 09:36 PM) [snapback]286909[/snapback]
Quote:
I'm really glad that I've found "Wolf" on Abandonia [/b]
Gee, thanks... :wub:
__________________
Icewolf is offline                         Send a private message to Icewolf
Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2007, 03:28 PM   #10
Ermuli
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Ermuli's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lehmisuo, Finland
Posts: 963
Default

I could upload both Lion & Wolf (CloneCD versions) to a file server and
publish them in The ISO Cellar, but I need rights to browse the whole
Cellar. I know: 20 Posts isn't that hard, but so many of those ISOs are
uploaded by me and I got dozens already uploaded waiting to be
published. Do you want to see them?
Ermuli is offline                         Send a private message to Ermuli
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lion Romano Games Discussion 252 27-08-2016 04:32 AM
Playing Missions In Lion And Viewing Lion Safari. Guest_leothelion_* Troubleshooting 5 25-10-2007 10:32 AM
Brian the Lion Starring In - Rumble in the Jungle [NON-PC] Crystal_sword Invalid Requests 2 02-08-2007 05:14 PM
Help With Lion Sound Wolvensilver Troubleshooting 2 16-10-2006 12:27 PM
The Lion King Anonymous Troubleshooting 3 29-01-2005 10:17 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 11:29 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.