Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2007, 08:41 PM   #1
Jon
Guest
Default

When I try to install games on Windows XP the command prompt window opens and I get the installation options, but before it installs it asks me to insert Disk #1 into the floppy disk drive, which I can't do because it is a downloaded game. How can I get around this problem?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2007, 08:00 AM   #2
Icewolf
Il Lupone
 
Icewolf's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Teufelsbruck, Germany
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Icewolf
Default

Almost all games that are hosted on Abandonia.com don't need to be installed.
As soon as you have unzipped them to a certain folder the game is playable.
Do know that most games that we host here don't run under plain Win XP. You need DosBox. It's a program that emulates an Dos environment and you can run the games in there.

Get DosBox and read more about it here.
__________________
Icewolf is offline                         Send a private message to Icewolf
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2007, 10:49 AM   #3
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

QUOTE(Jon @ Nov 7 2007, 10:41 PM) [snapback]318581[/snapback]
Quote:
When I try to install games on Windows XP the command prompt window opens and I get the installation options, but before it installs it asks me to insert Disk #1 into the floppy disk drive, which I can't do because it is a downloaded game. How can I get around this problem?
[/b]
You forgot one bit of crucial information: Which game is that?
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2007, 01:03 PM   #4
Jon
Guest
Default

It was with several games, top on the list were Pirates Gold and Ultima Underworld: Stygian Abyss. I got the DOSBox and they both seem to be working perfectly. Thanks a lot guys.
                       
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wizardry VII installation help plz trevort Troubleshooting 3 24-11-2007 08:13 AM
Darklands Installation Help Guest_Aclark91_* Troubleshooting 7 03-09-2007 06:23 PM
Nhl 97 Installation Problem RyanTheC Troubleshooting 1 29-01-2007 01:32 PM
Need Help With Installation warhawk582 General compatibility fixes 3 06-02-2005 08:24 AM
Ms-dos 6.22 Installation Cd Hentai Tech Corner 6 29-01-2005 12:37 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 02:16 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.