Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-06-2006, 09:17 PM   #1
chainsoar
Master Debater
 
chainsoar's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 326
Default

I wondered if it's possible or easy to run Command And Conquer : Red Alert in XP. I just downloaded it and am unpacking the files as we speak. I get the feeling it should be pretty simple, since I used to play the first C&C in XP without having to tweak it at all. Does the same apply for RA? Thanks.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by baruko View Post
How I download the game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
You click on 'Download this game'.
chainsoar is offline                         Send a private message to chainsoar
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2006, 09:57 PM   #2
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

C&C is a DOS game, so you need either to use the Win95 compatibility mode (I remember there is an icon for Win95, so it should be compatible with a little luck) or play the game in plain DOS using a Bootdisk or DOSBox. If you are lucky, maybe using VDMSound could be enough if the problem only originate from the soundcard.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2006, 10:21 PM   #3
chainsoar
Master Debater
 
chainsoar's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 326
Default

ARGH. I just HAD to run my stupid mouth, didn't I (or keyboard..whatever). I'm having a frickin' 'MARE trying to install this damn game. I've tried the XP fix instructions I got with it, I've tried numerous solutions all over the net and none of them work. I can't even get the setup program working! Someone help me for the love of christ

EDIT : OK, I'm getting closer! The only problem I'm getting now is when I run the setup it says "unable to locate necessary files. Please run setup.exe from the CD-Rom disc". Ideas? PLEASE?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by baruko View Post
How I download the game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
You click on 'Download this game'.
chainsoar is offline                         Send a private message to chainsoar
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2006, 10:29 PM   #4
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Please tell us what you tryied already. You need to help us help you.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2006, 10:34 PM   #5
chainsoar
Master Debater
 
chainsoar's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 326
Default

OK, here's what I did - I downloaded it, unpacked it and tried to install it. It gave me an error message about the wrong version of windows so I changed the compatibility mode. Now I get a message saying "unable to locate necessary files. Please run setup.exe from the CD-Rom disc" whenever I run setup.exe. Please help me.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by baruko View Post
How I download the game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
You click on 'Download this game'.
chainsoar is offline                         Send a private message to chainsoar
Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 01:46 PM   #6
Lucullus
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hobro, Denmark
Posts: 194
Default

QUOTE(chainsoar @ Jun 14 2006, 06:34 AM) [snapback]236574[/snapback]
Quote:
OK, here's what I did - I downloaded it, unpacked it and tried to install it. It gave me an error message about the wrong version of windows so I changed the compatibility mode. Now I get a message saying "unable to locate necessary files. Please run setup.exe from the CD-Rom disc" whenever I run setup.exe. Please help me.
[/b]
It's a bit difficult to figure out what can be wrong without the files. Please PM me the link where you got it from and also tell me whether you got the iso or a cracked version. I also seem to recall that Red Alert came with 2 discs as all other C&C games.
I've run C&C on XP with no problems, so might be able to help you with Red Alert... had it a while ago and it ran under XP with no problems as well.
Lucullus is offline                         Send a private message to Lucullus
Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 02:09 PM   #7
Elon Yariv
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mevasseret Ziyyon, Israel
Posts: 81
Default

I have the disks of red alert1 and it runs perfectly on XP proffesinal to me... maybe it's because I'm running it on an old computer.
Elon Yariv is offline                         Send a private message to Elon Yariv
Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 02:42 PM   #8
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,263
Default

You are running a downloaded version and CD protection has initiated. Simple as that.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 03:12 PM   #9
Moonstrider
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 52
Default

You could buy Command & Conquer, The First Decade.
It's a pack with ALL the current C&C Games including expansions and Renegade up to C&C Generals. Everything works fine in WinXP.
Moonstrider is offline                         Send a private message to Moonstrider
Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 07:45 PM   #10
chainsoar
Master Debater
 
chainsoar's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 326
Default

Yeah, I'd love to buy it. Only I'm poor. I downloaded it 'cause I'm poor. Cheers anyway guys.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by baruko View Post
How I download the game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
You click on 'Download this game'.
chainsoar is offline                         Send a private message to chainsoar
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Abandonware TheChosen Blah, blah, blah... 11 24-09-2005 11:56 AM
Abandonware dumpling321 Gaming Zone 13 07-07-2005 04:52 PM
Abandonware Omuletzu Blah, blah, blah... 43 09-02-2005 03:23 PM
Abandonware? Jwh Dar Trash Can 38 20-01-2005 10:25 PM
Is It Abandonware Milos Blah, blah, blah... 9 10-11-2004 09:18 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:06 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.