Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2009, 09:17 PM   #1
nate091878
Newbie

 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Independence, United States
Posts: 2
Default Ascendancy issue

Hello All,

I am having problems getting Ascendancy to run on one of my computers. I have been able to get the game to run on my vista machine and my laptop(also running vista) through DOSBox, but am having problems with my XP machine.

I have installed DOSBox, and followed the instructions for mounting a folder to run my games from. What I have done with my other PC's is unzip the Ascendancy folder into the DOS folder I created to launch my other games from. I run the ASCEND.exe from DOSBox and the game starts with no problems.

I have done the same with my XP machine, but when I run the executable the game appears to start(by this I mean the usual text shows up in the DOS window just before launch) but then the DOS prompt just shows up again without launching the game. I hope this makes sense. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!
nate091878 is offline                         Send a private message to nate091878
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 10:30 PM   #2
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

I usualy don't bother with DOSBox for Ascendancy. Try using VDMSound instead.

The only issue will be that the mouse speed is way down for that game. Back in the days it didn't stop me from playing though, and if you have a new laser mouse with high resolution (or one you can fix the resolution yourself) then you should not bump into this issue.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 12:40 AM   #3
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

if you decide to go on with dosbox, what's written in dos prompt after the game quits?
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 03:03 AM   #4
nate091878
Newbie

 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Independence, United States
Posts: 2
Default

Here's what I get in DOSbox:

C:\ASCEND>ascend
DOS/4GW Protected Mode Run-time Version 1.97
Copyright Rational Systems, Inc. 1990-1994

C:\ASCEND>

When the game would normally launch, instead it just shows up the prompt again. I only have this problem with Ascendancy so far.

Here's what I get in VDM Sound(not even sure how to operate this program):

Loading 'VDLoader.dll'...
DOS/4GW Protected Mode Run-time Version 1.97
Copyright Rational Systems, Inc. 1990-1994

Then VDMS just hangs. The window title shows [Inactive VDMS Launchpad - ASCEND.EXE]

So far thats all I have. I should also mention that I have reinstalled DOSBox, and re-downloaded the game. The same download works on my other machines. I looked for the "work right the first time" button but I couldn't find it.
nate091878 is offline                         Send a private message to nate091878
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 05:24 AM   #5
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Please give us more information: what is your OS, what version of DOSBox are you using? Are you using the version of the game that we have on site? Are you sure that you unzipped every files?

I just tryied Ascendancy on my computer (AB version). Works perfectly with DOSBox 0.72, and without a itch with VDMSound. The mouse issue don't even seem to be present with DOSBox...
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 01:03 PM   #6
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

he's apparently running latest dosbox on xp with abandonia version...
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 03:15 AM   #7
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

I know he said some in his first thread, but I still need more information.

For me the fact that he manage to run the game under DOSBox with Vista and not under XP don't make much sense. If anything DOSBox should work better in XP than Vista.

The only thing I can think right of my hat of would be that the configuration files are not indentical for both copies of DOSBox. Maybe he enabled a different core on his Vista copy or something like that?

And he never actually specified he downloaded the game from AB either.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 12:58 PM   #8
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

according to my experiments, it seems you're missing COB.CFG fille or one of these:
ASCEND00.COB 377_589 bytes
ASCEND01.COB 12_385_306 bytes
ASCEND02.COB 60_787_718 bytes

are they same on your pc?

COB.CFG is in attachements but the other ones are rather huge, in case they are not same size get new ones from abandonia
Attached Files
File Type: zip COB.zip (149 Bytes, 341 views)
__________________

Last edited by _r.u.s.s.; 08-01-2009 at 01:02 PM.
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ascendancy Kosta Games Discussion 613 06-08-2017 08:36 PM
Ascendancy I Mod legolas558 Programming 6 24-07-2012 05:05 AM
Ascendancy jakepi Troubleshooting 3 15-02-2007 07:25 PM
Ascendancy Issues Carraig Troubleshooting 2 01-09-2006 05:54 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 01:50 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.