Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28-03-2009, 07:08 AM   #1
Pex
Game Wizzard
 
Pex's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 249
Default Merchant Prince - how to run in dosbox?

I have a problem running this game in Dosbox. When I run prince.exe, screen becomes full of 'stars' (* <- those stars) and then it crashes, closing my dosbox.

Also, if I run it in Win XP, it has no sound and then it freezes when it comes to game menu.

Any ideas?
Pex is offline                         Send a private message to Pex
Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2009, 11:32 AM   #2
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Input ems=false @the dosbox prompt before running the game.

Or create a game specific dosboxconf with EMS=FALSE.
(Read the dosbox readme)

Or write a start.bat to run the game with

ems=false
prince


Works also fine
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*

Last edited by dosraider; 28-03-2009 at 11:44 AM.
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2009, 02:44 PM   #3
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

You can use the BAT file from this archive to switch EMS/XMS/UMB settings without leaving DOSBox. Just unpack it into your C: mount and enter memory to run it.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2009, 03:16 PM   #4
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

i think typing "ems=false" is nothing harder than downloading new archive and running a bat file
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2009, 05:00 PM   #5
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Sure, but this little batch file makes it a little more newbie-friendly.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2009, 06:58 PM   #6
Luchsen
Lurking Forever
 
Luchsen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bad Konig, Germany
Posts: 3,565
Default

In order that they stay newbs forever? You should assign them to write on the blackboard a hundred times: ems=false <- closest to a teacher
__________________
Luchsen is offline                         Send a private message to Luchsen
Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2009, 07:14 PM   #7
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Give a man food, and he will beg his whole life.
Learn a man how to harvest his own food and he will never have to beg again.


Learn a newbie how to use dosbox and he will never have to ask again.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2009, 08:05 PM   #8
Luchsen
Lurking Forever
 
Luchsen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bad Konig, Germany
Posts: 3,565
Default

Do you don't want to discriminate the other foods, or is there really this variant besides the fishy one? ... Oh, I got it, you are a vegetarian, am I right?
__________________
Luchsen is offline                         Send a private message to Luchsen
Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2009, 11:24 PM   #9
Pex
Game Wizzard
 
Pex's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 249
Default

Thanks guys. It worked (of course).

Btw, is there any sound in the game, cause I have none?
Pex is offline                         Send a private message to Pex
Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2009, 11:21 AM   #10
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Run setsound
You'll get some choices screens.

First one :Music card, choose C(MPU401)
Second one: Sound card, choose A( soundblaster)
Last one: MPU adress, choose D (330)

Run your game now and enjoy music and sound.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Merchant Prince Tom Henrik Games Discussion 110 20-12-2019 11:43 PM
Merchant Prince troubles Fubb Troubleshooting 5 06-09-2008 05:20 PM
Prince Sebatianos Troubleshooting 17 05-09-2007 07:37 PM
I Wanna Remake Merchant Prince Sol Programming 5 23-04-2007 02:57 PM
Merchant Prince With Dosbox 0.65 Anotherguest Troubleshooting 7 03-04-2006 09:13 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 08:40 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.