Go Back   Forums > Updates Workflow > Offers
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2021, 05:06 PM   #1
Neville
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lerida, Spain
Posts: 158
Default Status on Strike Commander.

Is "Strike Commander" allowed to upload or somehow out limits? I'm asking because I finally managed to put my hands on a full installation of the floppy version, completely unprotected.

The game is infamous for the number of protections it included, from manual checkups before installing to a couple of intentional bugs that made the game unplayable if it detected hardware changes: speed restricted to MIL 2 and an annoying tendency to run out of fuel mid-mission.

I already had a full install of the floppy version, together with its Speech Pack and its expansion Tactical Operations, but it wasn't until a few days ago that I found a program that removes all those pesky protections from the game.

So, if the game is finally allowed in this site, I'm willing to upload it any time.
Neville is offline                         Send a private message to Neville
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 11:10 PM   #2
Cluseck
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Boberrohrsdorf, Poland
Posts: 991
Default

Approved.
Cluseck is offline                         Send a private message to Cluseck
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 11:46 PM   #3
Neville
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lerida, Spain
Posts: 158
Default

Then you can grab the floppy version here:

Code:
https://mega.nz/file/gthHVCga#pIUPXriE_h1YLKOx45wrMuVpBR6O5eynaoNASH0406E
Includes Speech Pack and Tactical Operations add-on.

Run SC.EXE for the main game and SCTO1.EXE for Tactical Operations.

And as I said, it should be completely unprotected now.
Neville is offline                         Send a private message to Neville
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 03:36 PM   #4
Capo
Unconventional member
 
Capo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pescara, Italy
Posts: 978
Default

Nice, tell me if you need help adding the game
__________________

Capo is offline                         Send a private message to Capo
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 03:54 PM   #5
Neville
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lerida, Spain
Posts: 158
Default

You mean I have to do it?

I'd rather put it in the hands of the website staff, even if that means waiting.
Neville is offline                         Send a private message to Neville
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 07:39 PM   #6
Neville
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lerida, Spain
Posts: 158
Default

While this gets sorted out, I've also uploaded the manuals:

Code:
https://mega.nz/file/YhISkZSQ#u5hXe8dLI-KfDiRp4lpno68I8SDjw2sr6euRAb3n9Xo
Neville is offline                         Send a private message to Neville
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2021, 12:39 PM   #7
Smiling Spectre
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Smiling Spectre's Avatar




 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cherkessk, Russian Federation
Posts: 2,010
Send a message via ICQ to Smiling Spectre Send a message via AIM to Smiling Spectre Send a message via MSN to Smiling Spectre
Default

I will not touch adding process, unfortunately. Wait for the staff with better performance.
__________________
Smiling Spectre is offline                         Send a private message to Smiling Spectre
Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2021, 05:29 PM   #8
marko river
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10





 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Beograd, Serbia and Montenegro
Posts: 2,836
Default

Uh.. I guess that means me, and I haven't visited in weeks, and haven't added the game to site in years. I guess I could pull it off somehow, IIRC editing of existing game page could break a lot, creating new page obviously should not.

I gotta turn on old laptop and see if I have any descriptions/reminders about abandonia. And I guess I might add the game after all.

@Neville: you provided files and manuals, no screenshots, right? Game runs in DocBox or smt else?
marko river is offline                         Send a private message to marko river
Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2021, 01:53 PM   #9
Neville
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lerida, Spain
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marko river View Post
@Neville: you provided files and manuals, no screenshots, right? Game runs in DocBox or smt else?
Runs fine in both DOSBox and PCem. Although it's supposed to run on a plain 486 I strongly advice using a Pentium CPU. In DOSBox than would be >25000 cycles.
Neville is offline                         Send a private message to Neville
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2021, 04:18 PM   #10
Capo
Unconventional member
 
Capo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pescara, Italy
Posts: 978
Default

Looks like i cannot add the file to the ftp, if someone do that I can add the game
__________________

Capo is offline                         Send a private message to Capo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strike Commander PipoZloba Approved Requests 35 09-10-2018 05:55 PM
Can't get Strike Commander to work karekristensson Troubleshooting 6 03-03-2011 11:34 PM
Strike Commander Paco S 4 25-08-2010 09:52 AM
Strike Commander Casey Jones Troubleshooting 12 07-04-2010 06:00 AM
Strike Commander sneft Troubleshooting 4 20-07-2007 01:36 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 09:08 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.