Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting > General compatibility fixes
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2005, 07:20 PM   #1
The Levitating Nun
Game Wizzard

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 226
Default

Yep, I'm having a problem with system shock 2. It runs fine and plays all the videos but after a minute or more of playing it just freezes up looping the same animations and sounds over and over again, I really wanna play it but this is preventing me.
The Levitating Nun is offline                         Send a private message to The Levitating Nun
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 01:09 AM   #2
hfric
Newbie

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Agalli, Albania
Posts: 17
Default

OK , lets start with this write what kind of os you are using : if xp then run this game in the compabilite mode , you now right mouse click on the game shortcut

or

if you installed service pack 2 - then i have a bad message for you :not_ok: this game will not work , sollution : reinstall xp with service pack 1 this may help

or

install new Video drivers , direct-X 9c

or

simple a game patch form here -----CLICK ME-----
hfric is offline                         Send a private message to hfric
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 03:30 PM   #3
The Levitating Nun
Game Wizzard

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 226
Default

Hmm, I've got SP2 damn shame, perhaps I'll uninstall it...
The Levitating Nun is offline                         Send a private message to The Levitating Nun
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 08:15 AM   #4
Strobe
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Strobe's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Esslingen, Germany
Posts: 841
Default

i found the following about several System Shock 2 problems.
http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=69958

i hope there are some useful information about your issue..
Strobe is offline                         Send a private message to Strobe
Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2006, 11:22 PM   #5
Wolf Thug
Super Freak
 
Wolf Thug's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 162
Default

on my pc it just says that it has compatitablity issues with xp and ask to run anyway and when i click run nothing happens.
Wolf Thug is offline                         Send a private message to Wolf Thug
Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2006, 09:01 AM   #6
Quintopotere
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Quintopotere's Avatar



 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Turin, Italy
Posts: 1,043
Default

I'm a wise man who hasn't installed the service packs on XP, so that game run just fine...
__________________
Quintopotere is offline                         Send a private message to Quintopotere
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 10:22 AM   #7
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,860
Default

And I'm the wiser man who keeps Windows 98 installed on the same HD other partition so few single games that have most problems to run under XP can be played there.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2006, 10:49 PM   #8
LordHogFred
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 41
Default

System Shock 2 is a complete arse of a program to get working.
From my experiance the only thing I can pin it's compatability to is the graphics card you have. That's right, I'm running XP with SP2, etc and Shock 2 runs perfectly. However, if I stick it on the other computer in my room (similar spec except graphics card) it buggers up and none of the fixes listed ont he net will help. I know it has to be a hardware thing as the graphics card I hard previous to my current one refused to run Shock 2 and when I got this one I thoguth I'd give it a go and it worked fine.
IF it doesn't work first time sorry to say, but it's not gonna work.
LordHogFred is offline                         Send a private message to LordHogFred
Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2006, 12:54 PM   #9
PrejudiceSucks
Above-Par
 
PrejudiceSucks's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: York, England
Posts: 741
Default

It works for me, I have SP2 and everything...
PrejudiceSucks is offline                         Send a private message to PrejudiceSucks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System Shock TheChosen Games Discussion 162 22-01-2015 12:46 PM
System Shock 2 [STEAM, GOG] PrejudiceSucks Invalid Requests 19 21-11-2013 06:45 PM
System Shock In Dosbox BlackMageJawa General compatibility fixes 21 26-10-2012 07:07 AM
System Shock 2 Blood-Pigggy Troubleshooting 8 23-08-2005 03:53 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 03:42 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.