Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-05-2005, 11:48 PM   #1
Jimbo1977
Lurker

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 1
Thumbs up

Can anyone help me - Ive tried helping myself...to no avail by looking at previous forum entries but am not getting far. My problem:

I have installed dosbox and have set up so it is looking for "old games" in c drive, when I run the cd instruction I simply get "unable to change to" whatever it is I am trying to run....

It looks like this:

Z:\>mount C C:\oldgames
Drive C is mounted as local directory C:\oldgames\

Z:\>C:

C:\>cd oldgames
Unable to change to: oldgames


Any Ideas gratefully recieved as this is sending me a bit mental....

Thanks

Jim
Jimbo1977 is offline                         Send a private message to Jimbo1977
Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2005, 11:58 PM   #2
robotangel
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 18
Default

You've mounted c:\oldgames as C. Try a "dir" command to see what's in the directory. Or is in c:\oldgames another directory called "oldgames"? The try "cd oldgam~1".

Good old dos, 6 + 2 letters...
robotangel is offline                         Send a private message to robotangel
Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 12:05 AM   #3
milo
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 12
Default

read this if you haven't
DOSbox-the easy way to play
this is how i run all abandonia games...
milo is offline                         Send a private message to milo
Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 12:27 AM   #4
robotangel
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 18
Default

Buah, Drag n' Drop :help:



Or try DFend, amazing GUI for DOSBox. You can find it via Google. But maybe you won't need it if my solution works.
robotangel is offline                         Send a private message to robotangel
Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 07:54 AM   #5
Virgil
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Good old dos, 6 + 2 letters...
*ahem* actually 8 letters for name + 3 letters for extension ....
Virgil is offline                         Send a private message to Virgil
Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 12:26 PM   #6
samtam90
Game Wizzard

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 288
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jimbo1977@May 13 2005, 10:48 PM
Can anyone help me - Ive tried helping myself...to no avail by looking at previous forum entries but am not getting far. My problem:

I have installed dosbox and have set up so it is looking for "old games" in c drive, when I run the cd instruction I simply get "unable to change to" whatever it is I am trying to run....

It looks like this:

Z:\>mount C C:\oldgames
Drive C is mounted as local directory C:\oldgames\

Z:\>C:

C:\>cd oldgames
Unable to change to: oldgames


Any Ideas gratefully recieved as this is sending me a bit mental....

Thanks

Jim
It's imply because you are ALREADY in c:\oldgames (you mounted c: in the folder oldgames). In fact, when you mount a drive in a folder, if you go to that drive you'll go directly to that folder.

samtam90 is offline                         Send a private message to samtam90
Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 03:18 PM   #7
robotangel
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 18
Default

@Virgil

Yes, yes, maybe... I don't really know... Ymou might be right
robotangel is offline                         Send a private message to robotangel
Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 05:30 PM   #8
BeefontheBone
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
BeefontheBone's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 2,166
Default

You've already mounted that directory as the drive. Type "DIR /w" to see what's there, then change to one of the game's directories.
BeefontheBone is offline                         Send a private message to BeefontheBone
Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2005, 03:00 PM   #9
robotangel
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 18
Default

If there are a lot of files it's better to try "dir /p". But I don't know what "dir /w" does. I'll try it...
robotangel is offline                         Send a private message to robotangel
Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2005, 04:03 PM   #10
Virgil
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 43
Default

Dir/w displays the listing in wide format , with as many as five filenames or directory names on each line
Dir/p displays one screen of the listing at a time .To see the next screen press any key
Virgil is offline                         Send a private message to Virgil
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dosbox 0.73 and Vista [Basic howto] dosraider Tutorials 7 10-07-2009 11:34 PM
Dosbox 0.73 and XP [Basic howto] dosraider Tutorials 0 28-05-2009 04:27 PM
Dosbox: CD-Rom problems Scorn Troubleshooting 12 19-02-2008 08:25 AM
Ufo X-com Dosbox Problems ShadowXIX Troubleshooting 2 30-04-2006 06:02 AM
Dosbox Problems Guest_nick Troubleshooting 12 07-02-2006 05:57 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 05:01 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.