Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-01-2005, 02:21 AM   #1
Borodin
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Borodin's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Medina, United States
Posts: 978
Default

I'm trying to make some screen captures of a couple of DOS-based games I'm sending on to Kosta. Problem is, Hypersnap doesn't appear to recognize DOS any longer, and Print Screen takes pictures with strangely transmuted colors. What have the good folks up here used successfully? In advance, thanks.
Borodin is offline                         Send a private message to Borodin
Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2005, 03:00 AM   #2
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Well, DOSBox allow some very nice screen capture with CTRL-F5. Plus, as an added bonus, it saves as .png files and are resized exactly at the same dimention than the site screenshots use.

I don't think you can ask any better. k:
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2005, 03:45 AM   #3
Borodin
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Borodin's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Medina, United States
Posts: 978
Default

Sounds good! I've tried it just now and they look squashed to me, but if it's perfect for here, that's what counts.
Borodin is offline                         Send a private message to Borodin
Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2005, 10:28 AM   #4
Strobe
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Strobe's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Esslingen, Germany
Posts: 841
Default

to check out whether the pics are squashed you simply have to look at
the file information by right-clicking on them. if the size is 320x200,
they're just fine!
Strobe is offline                         Send a private message to Strobe
Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2005, 02:01 PM   #5
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,270
Default

Screen Thief is a good capture program that works under DOS.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2005, 03:02 PM   #6
Borodin
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Borodin's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Medina, United States
Posts: 978
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Strobe@Jan 18 2005, 10:28 AM
to check out whether the pics are squashed you simply have to look at
the file information by right-clicking on them. if the size is 320x200,
they're just fine!
...So 640 x 200 would not be correct, then? Because that's what DOSbox is taking. I don't fault the program. KOEI's PC-based products used an odd resolution. And if this doesn't cause problems, I can always send the screens in as-is.

Otherwise, I should search for another screen capture program.
Borodin is offline                         Send a private message to Borodin
Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2005, 03:03 PM   #7
Borodin
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Borodin's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Medina, United States
Posts: 978
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by the_fifth_horseman@Jan 18 2005, 02:01 PM
Screen Thief is a good capture program that works under DOS.
The zipfile of Screen Thief you link to is 2.01. The current version is 3.6. Is there a reason you reccommend an earlier version of the title?
Borodin is offline                         Send a private message to Borodin
Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2005, 03:25 PM   #8
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,270
Default

Yes. My ignorance. That was the only version I knew of.

It doesn't matter which version it is, though, just that it works. 2.01 was enough for me to take these screenshots. If you know a link to a newer version, I'd like to know - I can sure find a use for it.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2005, 04:09 PM   #9
Borodin
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Borodin's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Medina, United States
Posts: 978
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by the_fifth_horseman@Jan 18 2005, 03:25 PM


2.01 was enough for me to take these screenshots. If you know a link to a newer version, I'd like to know - I can sure find a use for it.
Yes. My ignorance. That was the only version I knew of.

All I did was google "screen thief." That provides more than a dozen links to shareware sites with the program.

It doesn't matter which version it is, though, just that it works.

But it does matter, if your version had features that were eliminated in later ones. This happens; for example, I can't use Hypersnap to capture DOS programs, so older versions did. And if your ST 2.01 version was freeware, the current version isn't. It's only a 30 day demo.

EDIT: Just checked the history file in your version of Screen Thief. It's 7 years old. But, it's also freeware, which is good. So I'll give it a try, and see how it gets along with XP. Thanks for recommending it.

EDIT-TO-EDIT: It doesn't apparently run under XP. I've tried increasing its memory and using compatibility settings, but nothing works. Also tried running it under DOSbox before loading the game, but that crashes.
Borodin is offline                         Send a private message to Borodin
Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2005, 04:49 PM   #10
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,270
Default

Well, in DosBox, SHIFT + F5 gets a screenshot right away. Screen Thief 2.01 worked well in true DOS machine.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vertical screen position too high in full screen mode Buddha Troubleshooting 3 29-05-2009 11:36 PM
Where does your screen id come from? arete Blah, blah, blah... 42 04-12-2008 01:22 PM
Screen Problems Kyrandia fan Troubleshooting 3 22-02-2007 11:51 PM
Not Full Screen aadavis Troubleshooting 6 15-11-2006 02:54 PM
Screen Size mozbeast Tech Corner 6 10-03-2006 06:55 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:07 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.