Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2009, 03:25 AM   #1
Molvoltinein
Guest
Thumbs up Wizardry 7 help

ok, i have DOSBox and i downloaded Wizardry 7 off of abandonia but i can't get it to play, and i have followed little tutorial that i could find, but i just can't get it to work, have any helpful ideas?
my game file is an ISO file. idk if that has anything to do with it.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 03:53 AM   #2
ianfreddie07
wat
 
ianfreddie07's Avatar



 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maryland, United States
Posts: 357
Default

What a bump!

Wrong place to post, sorry. You can make a new thread stating your problem on this forum, though.
__________________
yes
ianfreddie07 is offline                         Send a private message to ianfreddie07
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 04:09 AM   #3
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Splitted, new thread started.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 01:13 PM   #4
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

which tutorial did you follow? what steps you think went well and which steps do you think you screwed? how "doesn't work"? what does it say?
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 04:33 AM   #5
molvoltinein
Newbie

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: ,
Posts: 2
Default

this is everything when i try and start wiz 7

Z:\>SET BLASTER=A220 I7 D1 H5 T6

Z:\>SET ULTRASND=240,3,3,5,5

Z:\>SET ULTRADIR=C:\ULTRASND

Z:\>MOUNT C "F:\DOS\dos\DOSBox-0.72" (the folder that i have the game in is called "dos")

Z:\>C:

C:\>WIZARDRY VII - CRUSADERS OF THE DARK SAVANT.ISO
Illegal command: WIZARDRY.

C:\>


that is what it says word for word, symbol by symbol

i have it installed on my flash drive but i honestly dont think that matters, i have a GameBoy Adv. emulator on my flash drive and it works perfectly fine. and i have never had trouble figuring it out. i just can't figure out this DOSBox.
molvoltinein is offline                         Send a private message to molvoltinein
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 08:23 AM   #6
AlumiuN
Vodka-Induced Entertainment
 
AlumiuN's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 1,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by molvoltinein View Post
Z:\>MOUNT C "F:\DOS\dos\DOSBox-0.72"
If your game is in the dos folder, then it needs to be 'MOUNT C F:\DOS\dos'. What you are currently doing is mounting it to your DOSBox folder rather then the folder that the game ISO is in.

Quote:
Originally Posted by molvoltinein View Post
C:\>WIZARDRY VII - CRUSADERS OF THE DARK SAVANT.ISO
Use 'imgmount d "Wizardry VII - Crusaders Of The Dark Savant.iso"' (if that doesn't work, try 'imgmount d "Wizard~1.iso"').
__________________


Lies are for those who cannot handle the truth, but truth is for those who cannot handle the lies.
AlumiuN is offline                         Send a private message to AlumiuN
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 02:13 PM   #7
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Let's start over from scratch here, because this is going nowhere, really.
First steps whilst in WINDOWS:
1) Create a f:\oldgames\ on your USB key.
2) Create a f:\isos\ on your USB key.
3) Put your ISO file in F:\isos\ and rename that file as:
F:\isos\crusader.iso , mind: crusader NOT crusaders.

Now run dosbox and input:
mount c f:\dosgames
imgmount d f:\isos\crusader.iso -t iso

Install the game from d: on c: in dosbox.

Careful, no typos allowed.
And BTW, dosbox works fine from an USBkey, only a bit longer load times.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*

Last edited by dosraider; 08-02-2009 at 02:19 PM.
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 04:31 PM   #8
Luchsen
Lurking Forever
 
Luchsen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bad Konig, Germany
Posts: 3,565
Default

Real Help
__________________
Luchsen is offline                         Send a private message to Luchsen
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 02:27 AM   #9
molvoltinein
Newbie

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: ,
Posts: 2
Default

no offense, but nothing so far has worked.
what i did was install the DOSBox directly on my flash drive and i have everything on my flash drive, i have all the files to run everything on my flash drive, but everything on my flash drive is sorted in folders, people keep taking about mounting and all of that, but i dont really know what that means, do i have to mount the specific folder that i have the game file in? and what is the game file is multiple files deep?
molvoltinein is offline                         Send a private message to molvoltinein
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 06:12 AM   #10
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by molvoltinein View Post
....do i have to mount the specific folder that i have the game file in? and what is the game file is multiple files deep?
Follow this exactly and it will work:
Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
Let's start over from scratch here, because this is going nowhere, really.
First steps whilst in WINDOWS:
1) Create a f:\oldgames\ on your USB key.
2) Create a f:\isos\ on your USB key.
3) Put your ISO file in F:\isos\ and rename that file as:
F:\isos\crusader.iso , mind: crusader NOT crusaders.

Now run dosbox and input:
mount c f:\dosgames
imgmount d f:\isos\crusader.iso -t iso

Install the game from d: on c: in dosbox.

Careful, no typos allowed.
And BTW, dosbox works fine from an USBkey, only a bit longer load times.
You must always use the same mount lines you used to install the game..

You can adapt the folder names to your own if you want, but honestly, your folder names sucks. They are too long, gives you only troubles.
Keep it simple.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wizardry VIII [GOG] Blood-Pigggy Invalid Requests 33 19-09-2013 11:56 AM
Wizardry 7, Wizardry Gold noname Gaming Zone 15 13-02-2012 03:42 PM
Wizardry 7 On Mac EMU Troubleshooting 5 29-09-2006 06:47 PM
Wizardry 7 SwapMeetPimp Troubleshooting 5 26-04-2006 10:34 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 04:39 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.