Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2008, 11:58 PM   #1
sam adams
Newbie

 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default X-Com Apocalypse, Vista, DOSBox? How?

Noob here. Sorry if this topic has been gone over before. I tried searching for it but couldn't find it.

I'm running a laptop with Vista. I downloaded X-Com Apocalypse from Abandonia. But I have no idea how to install and run it.

I have no experience with DOS or DOSBox. Am I going to need to download DOSBox aswell?

I do own a copy of the game CD if that's at all usefull. Though I haven't had any luck with it since owning a Windows 95 machine.

Any help is much appreciated. I need somewhat of a dummed down "X-Com Apocalypse on Vista for Dummies" explanation. :confused:
sam adams is offline                         Send a private message to sam adams
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 07:26 AM   #2
Mighty Midget
Pox Vobiscum
 
Mighty Midget's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Krakeroy, Norway
Posts: 3,014
Default

You will need DOSBox for this one. Download DOSBox (you can find a link to their download site) only make sure you download the right one for your os, most likely the win32 exe (most importantly, you don't want to download the sourcecode).

Install it, and read the FAQs and tutorials found here to get it set up and running properly.

You won't need to install the games found here (don't know about your cd though), all you need to do is to unzip the game into a folder of your choise. Since we're dealing with DOS, any folder (directory) you want to access from within DOSBox should have names not longer than 8 characters.
__________________
Je Suis Charlie
Mighty Midget is offline                         Send a private message to Mighty Midget
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 03:25 PM   #3
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,270
Default

You will need DOSBox, no question to that.
What are your machine's specs, though? Dosbox alone requires a lot of resources, and you're running it on top of Vista of all things...
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 08:55 PM   #4
sam adams
Newbie

 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_fifth_horseman View Post
You will need DOSBox, no question to that.
What are your machine's specs, though? Dosbox alone requires a lot of resources, and you're running it on top of Vista of all things...
It's an HP Pavilion dv2500(Core 2 Duo T7300 processor 2.0GHz, 2GB RAM)
sam adams is offline                         Send a private message to sam adams
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 10:07 PM   #5
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,270
Default

No worries then.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X-Com Apocalypse + vista gaignan Troubleshooting 3 12-06-2010 11:45 PM
Dosbox 0.73 and Vista [Basic howto] dosraider Tutorials 7 10-07-2009 11:34 PM
Betrayal At Krondor - Cd Music On Dosbox And Vista JackoRougburn Troubleshooting 14 23-05-2009 02:51 AM
Trouble with dosbox on vista... Elround4 Tech Corner 1 12-08-2008 06:39 AM
Can't get xcom 3 - apocalypse to run in dosbox fdx Troubleshooting 13 20-05-2008 01:37 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:29 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.