Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting > General compatibility fixes
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2007, 10:10 PM   #1
Burger Meister
Om Teh Nom Noms
 
Burger Meister's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: North Bay, Canada
Posts: 308
Default

I installed virtual PC. I have a still sealed copy of windows 95 that I am planning to open for this purpose so I can play my really old w95 games. Would it be better to borrow my friend's windows 98 copy instead? Do you think the value of that sealed w95 is somewhat good? Because if it's worth something I don't really want to open it.
Burger Meister is offline                         Send a private message to Burger Meister
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 10:35 PM   #2
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,608
Default

Here you can find what a sealed Win95 disc is worth:

http://computers.search.ebay.com/sealed_Wi...10QQsacatZ41883
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 10:42 PM   #3
Burger Meister
Om Teh Nom Noms
 
Burger Meister's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: North Bay, Canada
Posts: 308
Default

awesome, LOL. Anyways what would you recommend I use. Win 95 or 98SE?
Burger Meister is offline                         Send a private message to Burger Meister
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 11:07 PM   #4
GTX2GvO
The (Web)Space Pirate
 
GTX2GvO's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Schijndel, Netherlands
Posts: 864
Default

My suggestion would be the Win98SE.

It will add just those few more games to the range of play than just plain Win95.
(first edition right? and not win95b / OSR2 or the likes)

But if you rather want to go for the older old win games (Win 3.x/95), then you should crack the seal and use Win 95.

It's all end up in Where you want to use it for.
- Only the oldest old stuff
- Old, but with long lasted compatibility. (I believe there is STILL stuff around that will work on win98SE)


The final choice is up to you.
__________________
Greetings from GTX2GvO.

Member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
GTX2GvO is offline                         Send a private message to GTX2GvO
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 11:45 PM   #5
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,608
Default

I haven't really used Win95, or at least don't remember. As for compatibility I think Win95 and Win98 will be similar if not the same since both are based on DOS 7.x (well Win95 on 7.0 and Win98 on 7.1), neither is as compatible backwards as DOS 6.x.

But you could install both in the same machine and boot one or other depending on what you want. As for Microsoft's operating systems, if one Windows is installed on top of an already installed previous version, I've heard (never tried) that the installation program will give you the option to leave both installed with a boot manager that you can configure from the latest version OS.

Anyway since DOSBox is the most convenient program to run old DOS games, the use for Virtual PC is for me limited to few instances. So I don't think you need to worry about compatibility with every single game since that's what DOSBox is for. Just my opinion though.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 06:40 AM   #6
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Go with W98 and preferably W98SE.
W95 will give you headaches to set up the VPC additions.
All W95 games run in W98SE.
But: you can't run games that need full 3D support in VPC as it only emulates a S3Virge. Games with a software mode: no problem.

After installing your OS don't forget to install the additions. (Menu 'action' -> install or update blablabla....)
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 03:34 PM   #7
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,270
Default

Some Win3.x and Win95 games have minor issues with Win98. I recommend W95, personally.

And I don't advise installing the VPC additions. It seriously screwed up a W98 virtual machine I set up to run Chaos Gate on some time ago.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 03:44 PM   #8
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Yes they can sometimes create an issue.
But without those additional files, no pointer integration, no shared folders and no network in VPC.
Also they install better S3Virge drivers so you can get 800x600 / true colors-32 bit in W98SE.
That's even worth to have to setup if needed two VPCs.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 01:32 AM   #9
Burger Meister
Om Teh Nom Noms
 
Burger Meister's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: North Bay, Canada
Posts: 308
Default

Ok so I cracked the seal and put the win 95 cd in my dvd drive (only one besides burner). So I set up the virtual pc file for a windows 95 installation and I try to start it and it says

Reboot and select proper boot device
or insert boot media in selected device

So what am I supposed to do now?
Burger Meister is offline                         Send a private message to Burger Meister
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 02:20 AM   #10
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Means your W95 CD isn't bootable.
You simply get your as* on bootdisk.com and download a W95 bootdisk that is suitable for your version of W95.
Will probably be the "Windows95 original" one.
And you boot (VPC !) from that:
-> simply input the bootdisk in your A drive.
-> or mount a flopimage.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gex [GOG] Jontzzu Invalid Requests 19 16-10-2014 01:58 PM
Microsoft Flight Simulator 4.0 orter Approved Requests 8 04-10-2010 12:04 AM
Microsoft Bows To Pressure On Xp velik_m Tech Corner 5 04-10-2007 06:46 AM
Microsoft Surface Tulac Blah, blah, blah... 23 06-06-2007 09:06 AM
Microsoft Mp3 Player. The Niles Blah, blah, blah... 1 30-01-2006 09:45 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:18 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.