Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2014, 05:02 AM   #1
brianr71
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Default Death Gate Question

I'm new here, ran across this site while researching how to get this game to work. Anyways, to my issue.
I recently re-acquired this game, after nearly 20 yrs of not having it. I never did get to finish the game when I first got it back then. I have win7 64 bit on my computer and found out that this game will not play on a 64 bit system. I saw in the tutorial section of the forum that you can download xp mode from microsoft.
My question is this then,

Has anyone tried running Death Gate on a win7 64 bit machine after downloading and installing xp mode? If it does run in xp mode, does it run fully, with full sound? Thanks in advance for any help.
brianr71 is offline                         Send a private message to brianr71
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 05:21 AM   #2
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

XPmode is kinda flawed to play games in.
If you're all for virtual go for VPC2007.

BUT: Death gate is a dosgame.
Runs fine in dosbox 0.74.
You will be much better with dosbox, believe me.

There is a Win7 tuto for dosbox in tutorial section.
You should end up with:
x:\.....\oldgames\dgate\

your inputs in dosbox to be able to run the game:

mount d x:\........\oldgames\
cd dgate
dgate


Yes, mount as D , it's not a typo.
Game is ready to run in dosbox, no setup nor install needed.


[Edit]
Whoops ... overlooked this,sorry :
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianr71 View Post
I recently re-acquired this game, after nearly 20 yrs of not having it......
Now, if you have the original CD:
Best create a CD image (modern CDdrives aren't really suited to run those older games, too much spinup/downs/heat...etcetera... blah blah....)
Use the normal mount ( C in stead of D)
Mount the CD image as D in dosbox (use imgmount)
Install game normally from D on C in dosbox.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*

Last edited by dosraider; 04-05-2014 at 05:58 AM.
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2014, 06:11 AM   #3
brianr71
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Default Dosbox Tuto

Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
XPmode is kinda flawed to play games in.
If you're all for virtual go for VPC2007.

BUT: Death gate is a dosgame.
Runs fine in dosbox 0.74.
You will be much better with dosbox, believe me.

There is a Win7 tuto for dosbox in tutorial section.
You should end up with:
x:\.....\oldgames\dgate\

your inputs in dosbox to be able to run the game:

mount d x:\........\oldgames\
cd dgate
dgate


Yes, mount as D , it's not a typo.
Game is ready to run in dosbox, no setup nor install needed.


[Edit]
Whoops ... overlooked this,sorry :

Now, if you have the original CD:
Best create a CD image (modern CDdrives aren't really suited to run those older games, too much spinup/downs/heat...etcetera... blah blah....)
Use the normal mount ( C in stead of D)
Mount the CD image as D in dosbox (use imgmount)
Install game normally from D on C in dosbox.




Where is the tuto for dosbox 0.74? I don't see it in the tutorial section of the forum. I saw one for 0.73, but it was saying to "open dosbox menu items" in the start menu and there is nothing that says dosbox menu items in my start menu or under the dosbox program folder in my start menu.

Nevermind, figured it out...lol.

Last edited by brianr71; 15-05-2014 at 07:07 AM.
brianr71 is offline                         Send a private message to brianr71
Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2014, 08:41 AM   #4
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

DOSBox hasn't really changed between versions. You'll find the old tutorial still applies... heck, my tutotial for 0.70 does.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Death Gate Sebatianos Games Discussion 183 04-01-2018 12:10 AM
Death Gate Luchsen D 6 14-09-2012 05:50 AM
I can't play Death Gate Infinium Troubleshooting 14 04-05-2009 08:30 PM
Problems With Death Gate enchantedmoons Troubleshooting 3 02-06-2005 07:13 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 07:24 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.