Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-12-2017, 12:56 PM   #1
Funkmaster5000
PRESS PLAY ON TAPE
 
Funkmaster5000's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Weilmunster, Germany
Posts: 136
Question How to run a 16 bit game on Win7 x64?

Hello,

does someone know how to run a 16 bit game on WIN7 x64? I know 64 bit doesn't emulate 16 bit anymore, but there's gotta be a way. DOSBOX falls flat, it's a Windows application and it refuses installation. Do I really have to set up a virtual XP machine to play one game?

It is a blast from the past, but not sure, if I want to go through setting up a VM. Maybe someone of you knows a nifty trick? It's a game I searched desperately and even posted in the Forgotten Games Bureau and now I found and bought it, not knowing it's a 16 bit application.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Funkmaster5000 is offline                         Send a private message to Funkmaster5000
Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2017, 07:43 PM   #2
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,508
Default

We have tutorials on the topic. It's also possible to install Windows 3.1 (16-bit) on DOSBox and we have a specific tutorial on this

http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/showthread.php?t=27770

http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/showthread.php?t=17501
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2017, 01:47 PM   #3
Funkmaster5000
PRESS PLAY ON TAPE
 
Funkmaster5000's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Weilmunster, Germany
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Japo View Post
We have tutorials on the topic. It's also possible to install Windows 3.1 (16-bit) on DOSBox and we have a specific tutorial on this

http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/showthread.php?t=27770

http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/showthread.php?t=17501
Thank you so much, I totally forgot about trying it on WIN 3.1. Worked like a charm!
__________________
Funkmaster5000 is offline                         Send a private message to Funkmaster5000
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shadowman under Win7 twillight Troubleshooting 1 29-01-2012 10:39 AM
Dark Seed II, won't run on win7 D.ee Troubleshooting 1 22-04-2011 08:16 AM
The Computer Game Quote Quiz Game Zarkumo Forum Games 549 15-08-2010 03:31 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 07:36 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.