Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-06-2005, 09:52 PM   #1
DakaSha
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 41
Default

Ok I installed VDMSound so I can play Death Gate (this site has turned me into an adventure fiend...never thought that possible)

anyways i read the readme and it says to right click on the file you wanna run VDMSound with and click on the run with VDMSound option... i dont have that option on any files...

what am i doing wrong?

(oh i have to use VDMSound because I cant use Dosbox)
DakaSha is offline                         Send a private message to DakaSha
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2005, 09:59 PM   #2
Flop
Hero Gamer
 
Flop's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kobenhavn, Denmark
Posts: 422
Default

Well, VDMSound only works with .exe .bat or .com files, as far as I know. I believe the file you want to open is called dgate.exe (possibly you should run setup.bat first). Both of those files should work with VDMSound the way you've described. Did you try those files?
Flop is offline                         Send a private message to Flop
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2005, 10:17 PM   #3
DakaSha
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 41
Default

well yeah thats the first file i tried... like i said NO files get the option... VDMSound was installed correctly (as far as i know) but it isnt working.

yes im using XP k:
DakaSha is offline                         Send a private message to DakaSha
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2005, 10:50 PM   #4
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Quick question; why can't you use DOSBox? :blink:
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2005, 10:51 PM   #5
DakaSha
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 41
Default

Pentium II
400 Mhz :whistle:
DakaSha is offline                         Send a private message to DakaSha
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2005, 11:03 PM   #6
Flop
Hero Gamer
 
Flop's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kobenhavn, Denmark
Posts: 422
Default

Hmm, did you download the version of VDMSound from this site? If not, which version number does it have?

If it is the version from this site (2.1.0) I can only recommend a reinstall. I know this isn't much help, but I've never heard of this problem before.
Flop is offline                         Send a private message to Flop
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2005, 11:21 PM   #7
DakaSha
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 41
Default

yeah have it from this site. tryed reinstalling it already... no idea whats wrong :angry:

just to make sure im not being a complete numbskull - i right click on the .exe .com. or .bat file and it should be on the same list as "Open, Run, Add to Archive....ect." ?

thanks for the help anyway i appreciate it :bye:
DakaSha is offline                         Send a private message to DakaSha
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2005, 11:38 PM   #8
Flop
Hero Gamer
 
Flop's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kobenhavn, Denmark
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DakaSha@Jun 14 2005, 12:21 AM
just to make sure im not being a complete numbskull - i right click on the .exe .com. or .bat file and it should be on the same list as "Open, Run, Add to Archive....ect." ?
Yeah, it should be near the top.

Hmm, found something at vogons that might help you. It's a bit of a longshot, but what the hell.

Try selecting run in the start menu, and the typing:

regsvr32 C:\Windows\System32\ATL.DLL

Then reinstall VDMSound.
Flop is offline                         Send a private message to Flop
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2005, 11:55 PM   #9
DakaSha
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 41
Default

hey it worked. thanks alot man


k:
DakaSha is offline                         Send a private message to DakaSha
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2005, 11:56 PM   #10
Flop
Hero Gamer
 
Flop's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kobenhavn, Denmark
Posts: 422
Default

You're welcome. Thank the people at Vogons for coming up with the fix. I was kind of curious to see if it would work myself.
Flop is offline                         Send a private message to Flop
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vdmsound Mr.Snuggles Tech Corner 4 28-09-2005 02:19 AM
Vdmsound And Dosbox WhiteWolf04 Tech Corner 6 27-09-2005 04:58 AM
Vdmsound dumpling321 Troubleshooting 14 24-06-2005 04:20 AM
Vdmsound BLOODUK Troubleshooting 3 10-01-2005 10:18 PM
Vdmsound Squalidangel Troubleshooting 2 22-12-2004 03:58 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 11:35 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.