Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-01-2006, 08:52 PM   #1
ReamusLQ
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 1,001
Default

Feel free to comment and discuss this game here. Also, if you have any useful tips or tricks don't hesitate to share them with the others! Thanks!

Review and Download (if available)

Last edited by Luchsen; 25-01-2008 at 03:40 PM.
ReamusLQ is offline                         Send a private message to ReamusLQ
Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2006, 10:46 AM   #2
stijnelijn
Guest
Default

hmm i really liked the grandest fleet, which came after this one.

Shame i never could get those weird graphics running.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2006, 12:11 PM   #3
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

I think it's the version I have uploaded a while back. Not sure, will have to check out.

Anyway, the game runs perfectly fine WITHOUT DosBox. It experiences severe graphic bugs when running in DosBox, too.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2006, 05:27 PM   #4
ted striker
Newbie

 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 23
Default

i reviewed this one. but never tried it without dosbox. shame on me :P. newayz fifth horseman is right. game shouldn't be run under dosbox. you can still hear sounds with winxp plus graphics arent buggy. and i also forgot to mention that it is enough to type any letter and hit enter to pass copy protection. one more thing: game is 286 kb not 818. i'll be more then thankful if somebody can correct these for me in review page
ted striker is offline                         Send a private message to ted striker
Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2006, 04:47 PM   #5
Guest
Guest
Default

There seems to be a bug which doesn't allow you to select the ship you wish to target during combat when run on XP.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2006, 12:07 AM   #6
Guest
Guest
Talking

If you like this game it's been revised by Thurston Searfoss the original QQP creator.

Check out http://www.lostadmiralreturns.com (aka Fogstonegames.com)

Tomsundy
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2014, 11:14 PM   #7
Vanshilar
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Los Angeles, United States
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guest View Post
There seems to be a bug which doesn't allow you to select the ship you wish to target during combat when run on XP.
I ran into the same problem. The issue has to do with the mouse cursor flipping on and off in terms of being displayed. There's some discussion of this on the DosBox forums:

http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?t=24717
http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?t=8497

I recommend using the command line option "e" (disables EGA page flipping) if possible; so when you run the game, the command line would be "atsea e" rather than simply "atsea". The cursor should always show up now, but sometimes refreshing the screen will be slower.

The second link (http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?t=8497#p55165) has a mouse driver file that will solve the issue (make sure the cursor is always displayed) for QQP games. You basically need to run it before running the game. There's probably a more elegant way to achieve this, but what I did was to put that mouse.com file in my Lost Admiral directory, and then I changed the dosbox shortcut to:

C:\Games\DOSBox-0.74\DOSBox.exe -conf "C:\Games\The Lost Admiral\dosbox-0.74.conf" "C:\Games\The Lost Admiral\atsea.exe" -c "mount d c:\games\thelos~1" -c "d:" -c "mouse"

It basically mounts the drive, then runs the mouse.com, then starts the game. As I said, there's probably a more elegant way to do it, but this also works for me.

Last edited by Vanshilar; 25-09-2014 at 07:27 AM.
Vanshilar is offline                         Send a private message to Vanshilar
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Admiral - Sea Battles turcotte Approved Requests 14 02-09-2009 07:46 PM
Lost Patrol, The marko river Games Discussion 21 05-07-2007 04:22 PM
Lost In Lost Menasor Blah, blah, blah... 28 09-02-2006 12:41 PM
Lost In La marko river Old Suggestions 3 09-06-2005 10:43 PM
Les Manley 2 Lost In La Help lj517 Troubleshooting 4 18-05-2005 11:07 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 07:12 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.