Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2009, 09:03 PM   #1
Ivey16312
Lurker

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Question Quest For Glory III install problem

I'm running Vista. Downloaded QFG III: Wages of War. Unzipped the files by following instructions posted on this site, so I believe I did it correctly. But the game is not installed. I've never messed with zip files before, so I'm kind of in unknown territory. Can anyone suggest helpful hints or pointers? I would greatly appreciate it.
Thx
Ivey16312 is offline                         Send a private message to Ivey16312
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 07:47 AM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,275
Default

It does not "install" the way Windows games do, and it never will.
Just run it in DOSBox.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 04:14 AM   #3
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

You also obviously need to expand the archive before playing. Find and download WinRar or WinZip on the net...
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2009, 03:34 PM   #4
Malik
Newbie
 
Malik's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ipoh, Malaysia
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivey16312 View Post
I'm running Vista. Downloaded QFG III: Wages of War. Unzipped the files by following instructions posted on this site, so I believe I did it correctly. But the game is not installed. I've never messed with zip files before, so I'm kind of in unknown territory. Can anyone suggest helpful hints or pointers? I would greatly appreciate it.
Thx
Use Dosbox. (www.dosbox.com). Better still, download D-fend Reloaded (http://dfendreloaded.sourceforge.net/) (an integrated dosbox+frontend). Will simplify your usage.

You need to use the install.exe only if you want to change the options used in the game.
Malik is offline                         Send a private message to Malik
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio problem: Quest for Glory 3 Thrillhouse85 Troubleshooting 12 30-08-2008 11:11 PM
Quest For Glory 4/police Quest 3 Error Clueless Troubleshooting 1 19-08-2005 08:21 PM
Want Heros Quest , Quest For Glory Civ-Junkie On site 6 16-06-2005 11:02 AM
Quest For Glory 5 Problem falloutboy3 Tech Corner 2 25-05-2005 10:18 AM
Quest For Glory 2 Problem JoeSir Troubleshooting 2 22-03-2005 12:14 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 05:34 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.