Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-11-2005, 05:09 PM   #1
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

i've got message that application is not win32 compatible when i run any dos application, ihave tried to run virus chcek, as someone told to do this before in some post but still nothing, still that message this problem shown up when i connected to the internet after reinstalling windows but i repeat again- no viruses were found
hlp plz
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2005, 07:41 PM   #2
Gamefreak
Guest
Default

What are you talking about? Do you try to run Dos games in Windows or what? What version of Windows are you using? How do you start these Dos applications or games, through Dos prompt or through Windows Explorer or how else?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2005, 08:00 PM   #3
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

whops

i use winXP,yes i run dos games in winxp(i would be glad to do it)
when i run through win or dos prompt, it shows that message
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2005, 08:03 PM   #4
welshman
Guest
Default

I have had these messages in the past when the file is corrupt
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2005, 08:04 PM   #5
mouse31e
Games Master

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Aylesbury, England
Posts: 335
Default

Is it the same message as the error described here?

If not, please post the exact error message is so we can try to work out what might be causing the problem.
mouse31e is offline                         Send a private message to mouse31e
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2005, 08:05 PM   #6
BeefontheBone
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
BeefontheBone's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 2,166
Default

It's more likely to be the "xxx.exe is not a valid Win32 application" message, since it's not a valid Win32 application. Use DOSBox.
BeefontheBone is offline                         Send a private message to BeefontheBone
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2005, 08:09 PM   #7
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

nope, it isn't that message, btw i had that problem too and soved him for myself=P
i have not got english version of win, so i will try to translate

%exe file dir% is not valid win32application
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2005, 08:10 PM   #8
mouse31e
Games Master

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Aylesbury, England
Posts: 335
Default

What is it you are trying to run?
mouse31e is offline                         Send a private message to mouse31e
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2005, 08:11 PM   #9
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

^ hey, that wasn't here 4 minutes ago!

so: i do not want to use dos box, coz' it's too difficult for my processor to emulate that game/games i want to run
but everything was allright before! i don't know what happened


iam tryng to run ALL of my dos applications
nothing works
for example dooms,blood,keens,duke,ufo,mortal combat, i have LOTS of them
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2005, 08:15 PM   #10
mouse31e
Games Master

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Aylesbury, England
Posts: 335
Default

There are very few DOS applications that will run in Windows XP because, unlike Win98, WinXP is NT based instead of DOS based meaning Windows XP only includes a minimal amount of DOS - not enough to run the majority of things.

The best way to run most DOS applications under Windows XP is Dosbox which will work fine with most if not all of those games.
mouse31e is offline                         Send a private message to mouse31e
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win32 Problem... Glush Troubleshooting 4 10-09-2006 06:35 PM
Application Error Xineoph Tech Corner 5 26-11-2005 07:25 PM
Dosbox Is A Valid Win32 Application Flodelarab Troubleshooting 7 20-07-2005 09:30 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 12:27 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.