Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-11-2005, 05:40 PM   #1
Tamrhind
Newbie

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Abbotsford, Australia
Posts: 19
Default

:help: I'll say at the start that I'm a total noob to DOS gaming, being MSDOS-phobic from way back.

OK, I've been reading all night 'bout this new age marvel called VDM Sound, even downloaded it in an effort to solve sound issues with System Shock 1 in DOSBox 6.03.

Seems since I run a venerable old lag of an OS - Windows 98 SE - and not the flasier XP/2000/ME models, VDM won't run, telling me I need admin. rights.

Anyone know of a workaround?

BTW, SS1 ran without a hitch on Win 95.
Tamrhind is offline                         Send a private message to Tamrhind
Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2005, 01:26 AM   #2
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

VDMSound only works on NT version of Windows. Lower version don't need VDMSound anyways, especially Win98.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2005, 05:23 AM   #3
Nikson
Game Wizzard

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cairns, Australia
Posts: 260
Default

And you shouldn't need DosBox for windows 98 either, since it's based on the DOS architecture, not the NT architecture.
Nikson is offline                         Send a private message to Nikson
Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2005, 07:15 AM   #4
Tamrhind
Newbie

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Abbotsford, Australia
Posts: 19
Angry

Quote:
Originally posted by Nikson@Nov 16 2005, 05:23 AM
And you shouldn't need DosBox for windows 98 either, since it's based on the DOS architecture, not the NT architecture.
That's what I would've thought but since I 'upgraded' from Win95, SS1 has never worked as it did.
Tamrhind is offline                         Send a private message to Tamrhind
Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2005, 01:09 PM   #5
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

There is a DOS reboot option.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2005, 02:55 AM   #6
JimmyJ
Game Wizzard

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 247
Default

are you trying VDM Combined with Dosbox? It doesn't work.
JimmyJ is offline                         Send a private message to JimmyJ
Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2005, 11:30 AM   #7
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Also, if you have sound problems:
1. Check which soundcard you have configured DosBox to emulate. Set it to something lower, like Sound Blaster 2 or Sound Blaster Pro 1. Some of these just don't have backwards compatibility.
2. Check which soundcard the game is configured to use.

It is highly recommended you check the "Sound not working FAQ" in Troubleshooting Archive as well, it might give you some answers.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dos Memory Problems Under Win98se Mighty Midget Tech Corner 16 31-07-2006 07:33 PM
Win98se And Conventional Memory Kon-Tiki Tech Corner 2 08-04-2005 04:30 AM
Simtower In Win98se Guest_tbig Troubleshooting 0 03-04-2005 06:53 PM
Win98se Trouble Kon-Tiki Tech Corner 6 21-03-2005 07:44 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 04:41 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.