Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-05-2005, 07:51 AM   #1
Guest_Lokey
Guest
Default

Yo,

Anyone have a solution for ME and gettin sound for Darklands??


I tried my bestest. In dossux I can't even type ":". I don't know how to fix whatever keyboard problem that may be. The drag and drop .exe solution worked, but still w/out sound folks. I keep hearing about how pleasing the sound is in DARKLANDS, I wanna hear it!! Any ideas???

Thanks,

Loks
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2005, 01:00 PM   #2
Mad-E-Fact
Games Master

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 343
Default

Are you sure you are using the right program? The DosBox I have doesn't "sux bolls", so maybe that's the problem in the first place?
Mad-E-Fact is offline                         Send a private message to Mad-E-Fact
Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2005, 01:31 PM   #3
Lokey
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 9
Default

Again I'm running "Windows Millenium Edition" aka ME. And no, you're right, dosbox is for 98-XP apparently. So, anybody know what for Win ME?

Darklands runs on Win ME from the .exe file, aber mit no sounden!!

WO IST MEIN SOUNDEN?!?


Cheers,

Loks



PS= I need an emulator for my emulator?
Lokey is offline                         Send a private message to Lokey
Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2005, 01:42 PM   #4
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

dosbox runs fine on win ME
in the readme of dosbox (which is called readme (get the hint) )
there is the answer for your ':' problem
__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2005, 03:44 PM   #5
omg
Games Master

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 303
Default

try dfend as a frontend it makes editing multiple configs a breeze and you hardly have to type anyting.
omg is offline                         Send a private message to omg
Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2005, 03:54 PM   #6
samtam90
Game Wizzard

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 288
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Guest_Lokey@May 17 2005, 07:51 AM
Yo,

Anyone have a solution for ME and gettin sound for Darklands??


I tried my bestest. In dossux I can't even type ":". I don't know how to fix whatever keyboard problem that may be. The drag and drop .exe solution worked, but still w/out sound folks. I keep hearing about how pleasing the sound is in DARKLANDS, I wanna hear it!! Any ideas???

Thanks,

Loks
Try to run it with VDMSound. It should work.
samtam90 is offline                         Send a private message to samtam90
Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2005, 06:10 PM   #7
Lokey
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks for all the feedback folks!

OK, Dosbox works for Win ME, but I still have the same silent situation. The readme had no working answers (my keyboard conf. says it's US English, and the other suggestions are no good). Alles gut however, cause drag and drop still works; what we need is sound!

I tried VDMSound even before dosbox, but that one IS specifically for XP users. Thanks though. I've downloaded and made the "boot disk" and got the SB sound drivers, and now believe the solution is somewhere near, but can't quite figger it out from the readme's. Read me?

Think DFEND will work?


Thanks everyone...


Lokey is offline                         Send a private message to Lokey
Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2005, 08:11 PM   #8
samtam90
Game Wizzard

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 288
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lokey@May 17 2005, 06:10 PM
Thanks for all the feedback folks!

OK, Dosbox works for Win ME, but I still have the same silent situation. The readme had no working answers (my keyboard conf. says it's US English, and the other suggestions are no good). Alles gut however, cause drag and drop still works; what we need is sound!

I tried VDMSound even before dosbox, but that one IS specifically for XP users. Thanks though. I've downloaded and made the "boot disk" and got the SB sound drivers, and now believe the solution is somewhere near, but can't quite figger it out from the readme's. Read me?

Think DFEND will work?


Thanks everyone...
So, have you solved the problem?
samtam90 is offline                         Send a private message to samtam90
Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2005, 08:26 PM   #9
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Did you try to run the setup and configure the sound to soundblaster for DOSBox yet? It should work even if you don't have a real hardware soundblaster card installed in your computer box.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2005, 11:02 AM   #10
Lokey
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 9
Default

OK, my DOS-sprech is nicht so gut.

In ME I think the only way to get a dos-prompt is from startup. What do I type to start "SBESET.exe" from a folder titled "DOS SB driver" on the desktop?

Apparently it won't work in "a windows setting" otherwise.

From there I think I know the (standard) SoundBlaster config. fur Dasbox.


Cheers...
Lokey is offline                         Send a private message to Lokey
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
darklands noclaniggy Troubleshooting 2 31-05-2008 08:13 AM
Darklands a1s Gaming Zone 3 20-04-2006 12:16 AM
Darklands GrueX Troubleshooting 11 13-02-2006 06:08 AM
Darklands Borodin Gaming Zone 0 30-06-2005 03:18 AM
Darklands WildZeppelin Troubleshooting 9 03-02-2005 11:23 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 05:14 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.