Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Introductions, Farewells and Returns
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27-01-2011, 09:37 AM   #1
BRemund
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ,
Posts: 6
Default HI and Windows 7?

First want to say Hi, I was on a mission not long ago to find a playable version of many of the old games from when I was a kid and found this site. Thank you for putting this together. Has anyone had any compatabiltiy problems on windows 7? I downloaded one that is xp compatable and it works great, then tried a couple others that were also xp compatable and couldn't make them work, but then I am no computer genius. Any suggestions?
BRemund is offline                         Send a private message to BRemund
Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2011, 09:43 AM   #2
DarthHelmet86
SuperFishMod
 
DarthHelmet86's Avatar




 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,830
Default

Well that really depends on the game, some have been marked XP compatible due to them maybe working on XP (Old staff and what not), if they also had Dosbox marked then that is more than likely what you are going to need to use.


And welcome.
DarthHelmet86 is offline                         Send a private message to DarthHelmet86
Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2011, 10:38 AM   #3
Lulu_Jane
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Lulu_Jane's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Praha, Czech Republic
Posts: 3,273
Default

When you find a game from the site you're having issues with feel free to post in the troubleshooting sectin of the forums and we'll do our best to help you out

I'm also running Win7 as are many other folks around here, so I'm sure we'll find a solution for what ails you.
__________________
I have vestigial adventure elements
Lulu_Jane is offline                         Send a private message to Lulu_Jane
Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2011, 11:25 AM   #4
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

Win XP compatibility does not imply Win 7 compatibility. Do what Darth says.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2011, 05:22 PM   #5
BRemund
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ,
Posts: 6
Default Thanks.

Cool, thanks for the responses, I will have to try another one out.
BRemund is offline                         Send a private message to BRemund
Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2011, 05:24 PM   #6
Dave
Mandolin & Spaghetti Soldier
 
Dave's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Emilia, Italy
Posts: 8,518
Default

Win7 or not, you are welcome
__________________
Dave is offline                         Send a private message to Dave
Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2011, 06:35 PM   #7
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,613
Default

I wouldn't pay much regard to the XP compatible tag even if I had XP. Making DOS games run in XP and others (NTVDM.exe) was always an art not a science, and the results can vary from one machine to other, and in the best case you can't have any sound beyond the motherboard beeper, unless you use VDMSound.

DOS games => DOSBox, period

And performance is hardly an issue any longer in modern machines--even though DOSBox doesn't take advantage of multi-cores :/--besides big optimizations in the latest DOSBox versions. Hell I can play Duke3D in fullscreen perfectly, which I couldn't with the computer I had back then.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2011, 12:43 AM   #8
BRemund
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ,
Posts: 6
Default Dos Box

Ok, a lot of that answers some questions for me. However as I mentioned in the beginning, I am no computer genius. I looked at the downloads for Dos Box and am a little confused by the variety of options. How do I know which one I need?
BRemund is offline                         Send a private message to BRemund
Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2011, 03:02 AM   #9
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,613
Default

You mean here?

http://dosbox.com/download.php?main=1

What about "Windows"?

As I'm foreseeing your next question after you succeed at installing DOSBox, I invite you to peruse my tutorial:

http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/showthread.php?t=17498
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2011, 07:52 AM   #10
BRemund
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ,
Posts: 6
Default

gotcha. I'll give it a go.
BRemund is offline                         Send a private message to BRemund
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Fx Os Pietafon Tech Corner 15 31-08-2007 02:48 PM
Windows Kerebear Blah, blah, blah... 9 31-01-2005 06:16 PM
Windows Xp futball_luv Troubleshooting 1 24-01-2005 07:47 PM
Windows Xp - Windows Explorer Search Braindead Tech Corner 2 05-01-2005 09:41 PM
What Do You Think About Windows 9x (05/98/ME) ? Nick Tech Corner 37 28-12-2004 02:40 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 02:03 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.