Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30-04-2006, 05:22 AM   #1
ShadowXIX
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 83
Default

Im having some problems running this game :help: . I tried the Windows version on XP and it runs really fast the globe spins so fast its hard to get it too a location without over shooting it. A Problem I see other have as well. It also crashes very often when I go to a land mission So Ive given up on that version.

So I tried the DOS version in DOSBOX since that works great for just about every DOS game for me and it allows me some control over the game speed. I cant even get it to run on DOSBOX though, I dont even see a UFO.exe file to drag and drop over dosbox too play it..

It has weird exe. like

Go
Noway
Done
Dos4gw
Intro

none of which start the game.

Most games its simple for me SIMCITY 2000 for example I take the exe. sc2000 drag it over dosbox and bingo game runs, Easy and simple. I dont even see a UFO.exe or Xcom.exe to do that with??

When i try Install.exe it gives me the message " change directory to and then enter cdsetup followed by your cdrom drive letter". But when I type "cdsetup d:" nothing happens. Im really lost on what im suppose to do here if anything.

Anyone know how to get this to run on Dosbox? I might be missing something really simple I dont know.
ShadowXIX is offline                         Send a private message to ShadowXIX
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2006, 05:40 AM   #2
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Use UFO.bat, or another of the other 2 .bat files to start the game.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2006, 06:02 AM   #3
ShadowXIX
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 83
Default

The only Batch files I seem to see are

-cdsetup
-install
-full
-small
-ufocd

When I try ufocd it brings up th dosbox prompt

c:\> call cdsetup.bat
c\>

The others dont work

am I suppose to type ufoc or something to that effect at the ufocd.bat prompt I get?
ShadowXIX is offline                         Send a private message to ShadowXIX
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DOSBox CD problems... bobinator1992 Tech Corner 10 01-07-2009 07:35 PM
EMS/XMS problems in DOSBox NGboo Troubleshooting 8 13-09-2008 04:44 PM
Dosbox: CD-Rom problems Scorn Troubleshooting 12 19-02-2008 08:25 AM
Problems With Dosbox Dopopopalis Troubleshooting 12 12-12-2006 09:30 AM
Dosbox Problems Galderhalfdan Troubleshooting 3 07-03-2005 11:18 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 11:29 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.