Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-04-2008, 05:50 PM   #1
F_LeRoy
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Moorhead, United States
Posts: 15
Default I'm retarded....HELP !!!

First things first. My O/S is Win XP sp2. Next, I've read the DOSBox tutorial (any many other posts) & have input the additional lines in the .conf (omitting the CLS). I put all of my downloaded games in C:\DOS\CDrive. I start DOSBox & the 1st thing I get is that it changes from Z to C. Then it tells me, " D D:\ -t cd rom" "illegal type cd". What is that ? Next, I'm trying to install Bandit Kings of Ancient China. I type, "cd bandit" & get in that folder. Then type "dir" & get all the correct lines, except that there are no files, only 3 dir. So, what am I missing in the process ? :mad: :mad:
F_LeRoy is offline                         Send a private message to F_LeRoy
Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 05:53 PM   #2
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F_LeRoy View Post
D D:\ -t cd rom
Nope, reread the howtos.
mount d d:\ -t cdrom
That is of course if d:\ is your real cddrive letter in Win.

Quote:
Originally Posted by F_LeRoy View Post
Then type "dir" & get all the correct lines, except that there are no files, only 3 dir.
What 'dirs' ? Do you want us to guess them names ?
Learn how to explain yourself, and learn how to use winzip correctly.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*

Last edited by dosraider; 17-04-2008 at 05:56 PM.
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 05:59 PM   #3
F_LeRoy
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Moorhead, United States
Posts: 15
Default I'm retarded...HELP!!!

welll, it's a dvd/rw drive & it's the only thing, other than my floppy ( A:\ ) that I have. what else could I be missing ?? Another thing I don't quite get is that it creates a Bandit folder & subfolder. Sorry if I'm not very literate, not sure of the correct lang. C:\DOS\CDrive\Bandit ? I beg patience & very much appreciate any/all help.

Last edited by F_LeRoy; 17-04-2008 at 06:05 PM.
F_LeRoy is offline                         Send a private message to F_LeRoy
Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 06:05 PM   #4
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

You're the one behind the keyboard, friend. I can't know your drive letters.
Check your drive letters and your mount line.

And 'bout Bandit Kings of Ancient China.:
If you done it right this is what you must have when inputting dir /w @ the prompt in the bandit dir:
click ->
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 06:16 PM   #5
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Oh my, let's begin from zero here.

Open dosbox.conf, under [autoexec] add:

[autoexec]
mount c C:\DOS\CDrive
c:

That's all you need there. Forget the CD for now.

Whilst in windows:>>IN WINDOWS I SAID!!!<<
Unarchive the ab download in:
c:\dos\cdrive\
So you get
c:\dos\cdrive\bandit\

Run dosbox, if you've done all right will start up with a C: prompt, input:
cd bandit
koei


If you didn't screw up your game will run.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*

Last edited by dosraider; 17-04-2008 at 06:19 PM.
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 06:26 PM   #6
F_LeRoy
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Moorhead, United States
Posts: 15
Default

wow, your screen looks drastically different than mine. I did get my D: mounted correctly now, a space where there wasn't s'posed to be. how do you post screens of dosbox like that ? I think a pic would explain much better than i can, may be more helpful to you.
F_LeRoy is offline                         Send a private message to F_LeRoy
Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 06:33 PM   #7
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F_LeRoy View Post
how do you post screens of dosbox like that ? I think a pic would explain much better than i can, may be more helpful to you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by F_LeRoy
I'm retarded....
Think you better forget taking/posting screenies.
And of course it looks different, my virtual C is E:\games ......
It's the dir /w result that you must have, not the mount lines.

Something in my last post you have problems with? Something specific ?
[echo mode]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
Oh my, let's begin from zero here.

Open dosbox.conf, under [autoexec] add:

[autoexec]
mount c C:\DOS\CDrive
c:

That's all you need there. Forget the CD for now.

Whilst in windows:>>IN WINDOWS I SAID!!!<<
Unarchive the ab download in:
c:\dos\cdrive\
So you get
c:\dos\cdrive\bandit\

Run dosbox, if you've done all right will start up with a C: prompt, input:
cd bandit
koei


If you didn't screw up your game will run.
[/echo]
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 06:40 PM   #8
F_LeRoy
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Moorhead, United States
Posts: 15
Default

Ok, I got 1 step further. I was accidentally making a bandit folder & a subfolder in it (:mad. I have a list with all the files showing on the dosbox screen now. Now, however, it says, " Error: the floppy drive containing game disk B must be the current directory". I got this mess. after I tpyed in "install", is this the wrong 1 to use to run the game ? One other curiousity, your screen lists files 4 deep & 5 wide, mine are all single file. Can I change mine to look like yours ? (strike last ?, I got it [der].

Last edited by F_LeRoy; 17-04-2008 at 06:47 PM.
F_LeRoy is offline                         Send a private message to F_LeRoy
Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 06:43 PM   #9
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

[Echo]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
Run dosbox, if you've done all right will start up with a C: prompt, input:
cd bandit
koei
[/Echo]

Run dosbox and input
cd bandit >HAMMER ON ENTER<
KOEI >HAMMER ON ENTER<

And your game will run.

Where the f*ck do you read that you must input INSTALL ????????????????????????????????????????

You really want to end up in the 'Troubleshooting Archive', do you?
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*

Last edited by dosraider; 17-04-2008 at 06:46 PM.
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2008, 06:58 PM   #10
F_LeRoy
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Moorhead, United States
Posts: 15
Default

Sincerest apologies, wise 1. I am bogged dow by a horribly slow conn. & a very bad, server &, consequently, don't get your replies promptly. Your patience is wearing & I apologize again. I am the 1 who needs to learn to listen better. You have my utmost admiration & gratitude. Hopefully I will be easier to help in the future. It's working great, btw....
F_LeRoy is offline                         Send a private message to F_LeRoy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Most Retarded Things to ever have existed on the Internet V1.0 Fubb Blah, blah, blah... 8 12-01-2009 07:14 PM
Retarded Imagery Stroggy Blah, blah, blah... 17 24-11-2004 12:49 PM
Most Retarded Commsersial I Ever Seen Ioncannon Blah, blah, blah... 11 13-11-2004 06:09 PM
I must really be retarded Christina Troubleshooting 13 16-04-2004 01:47 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 09:24 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.