Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27-01-2011, 10:33 AM   #1
Kugerfang
_r.u.s.s. changed it :'(
 
Kugerfang's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Amerika, Netherlands
Posts: 429
Default Emulating Win95/98

Any good ideas for emulating Win95/98 so I can play older games on them? I've tried installing them on VirtualBox, but they don't work so well.
__________________
"The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it."

-Terry Pratchett
Kugerfang is offline                         Send a private message to Kugerfang
Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2011, 11:28 AM   #2
DarthHelmet86
SuperFishMod
 
DarthHelmet86's Avatar




 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,830
Default

Microsoft Virtual PC is your best bet I think.

I have Windows 98 running in mine but it doesn't emulate 3D video cards from what I understand.
DarthHelmet86 is offline                         Send a private message to DarthHelmet86
Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2011, 01:33 PM   #3
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

actually it does emulate the 3d video card. it doesn't use your host video card but uses it's own emulated video card emulated by your cpu, kinda sucks :/

it virtualizes cpu and ram though
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2011, 06:04 PM   #4
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,607
Default

Yes, Virtual PC is intended to support legacy business applications, needless to say Microsoft doesn't care about game performance in it. Nevertheless I have had great results with it, playing the Win9x and Win3.1 games that I want to, like Age of Empires II or Civilization II. I did have serious performance problems too when I tried VirtualBox, the OS itself ran very slow even before loading anything else; I didn't try hard to solve the problem, I just switched to VPC which works great out of the box for Windows.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2011, 11:24 PM   #5
Kugerfang
_r.u.s.s. changed it :'(
 
Kugerfang's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Amerika, Netherlands
Posts: 429
Default

How much RAM and HDD space should I give a Win98 VM?
__________________
"The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it."

-Terry Pratchett
Kugerfang is offline                         Send a private message to Kugerfang
Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2011, 11:26 PM   #6
DarthHelmet86
SuperFishMod
 
DarthHelmet86's Avatar




 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,830
Default

All of them!!11

Really I can't tell you.
DarthHelmet86 is offline                         Send a private message to DarthHelmet86
Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2011, 01:32 AM   #7
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,607
Default

Well it depends on what you plan to install in it and run in it, does it? Regarding RAM, I have set 256 MB, which is overkill to make Windows 98 run smooth hardly ever touching the pagefile, and leaves an ample surplus for the old programs I have in there. And at the same time 256 MB is a small part of the RAM I have, an Internet browser can take that much, so I can give VPC that much too. And when you're running a virtual machine you're not supposed (?) to be running other resource intensive programs at the same time, so I can give VPC that much.

Even more so HD space depends on what you plan to install in it. Windows 98 SE takes less than 300 MB itself, the rest is what you'll need for your programs and stuff.

Note that you can choose to set up a fixed or a dynamic virtual disk, and the default option is the second one. It means that the virtual disk file will take in your real disk only as much space as it's actually occupied by files inside the virtual disk; the rest of free space reported inside the virtual machine will not be allocated in your real disk before it's going to be actually occupied.

So I recommend leaving this default dynamic option, and being generous with the maximum size. But don't go crazy, you won't probably want heavy files like pictures, audio or video in your virtual machine, if they can be in your real host instead. And the games you'll install in the virtual machine will be old and will take little space by today's standards, and many games for Windows 9x work on newer versions and you don't need VPC for them.

Depending on the number of game and programs that you're going to install, I don't think you need to think about more than 10 - 100 GB. But anyway since I think there's no downside to allocating too high a maximum size, because the file will actually take only as much space as it needs, you may want to make the maximum size higher for good measure.

(Dynamic virtual disk files do not shrink in size when you free space by deleting files inside the virtual machine; this is perhaps to prevent fragmentation from going wild. Actually if you want good performance I recommend you defragment the virtual disk file after its size has increased--after you have installed new stuff in the virtual machine.)
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2011, 09:11 AM   #8
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,905
Default

10 GB should be pretty much enough for a number of games, the biggest space a game of Win98 era could take is 1 GB, 600 MB more probable. 8 GB hard drive was all I ever used on my old Win98 machine, which was sufficient for everything.
Also some older Win 3.1 / Win95 games might have troubles with 256 MB RAM, 64 might be safer option in Win98 for backwards compatibility.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2011, 11:30 AM   #9
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,607
Default

Well the RAM can be changed at any time the virtual machine is off--unless the maximum disk size which is trickier--so you don't have to settle with a value from the beginning. 64 MB will cause more or less severe trashing of the HD pagefile depending on what you're running. Anyway 256 MB never caused any problems with the Win3.1 games I have, of course it could happen with DOS real mode games, but those are for DOSBox. Again you can change the amount of RAM at any time (just like in a real machine, except that you only have to access a menu instead of opening the case).
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2011, 12:08 PM   #10
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scatty View Post
10 GB should be pretty much enough for a number of games, the biggest space a game of Win98 era could take is 1 GB, 600 MB more probable. 8 GB hard drive was all I ever used on my old Win98 machine, which was sufficient for everything.
One word: shared folder host/guest, you can use the whole host HD if you want.

...arf, that's more then one word, but who cares.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Get Win95 Game To Run In Xp Ol Dirty Bastard Troubleshooting 14 18-02-2015 07:00 PM
Win95 Vs. Winnt Compatibility Gormash Troubleshooting 5 10-12-2007 12:46 PM
Emulating A Cd Drive? Sakar Tech Corner 7 05-09-2005 10:35 AM
Trouble Emulating Sound... LongPing Troubleshooting 15 26-01-2005 04:00 PM
Problem Trying To Get Win95 Games To Run Fawfulhasfury Troubleshooting 10 11-12-2004 10:44 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 05:50 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.