Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2005, 10:15 PM   #1
bcorz
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 2
Default

I just downloaded Sim City 2000. I extracted it, and then couldn't figure out how do open it. I tried all the .exe files and all they did was make my screen pitch black. How do I get Sim City to run. Also, how to I shut down dos when my screen is black. I use Windows XP home.
bcorz is offline                         Send a private message to bcorz
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 12:32 AM   #2
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

You should use either VDMSound or DOSBox if you find a DOS game that you can't use in WinXP. Both are featured on this site in the application section.

For the black screen problem, there is several ways. Hitting your Windows key (if you have a recent keyboard) should bring you back to desktop where you should be able to right-click on the MS-DOS application and select "close". If you don't have a Windows key, hitting ALT-Enter usually does the trick.

If it doesn't work (i.e. the game froze the DOS window) the only option left is to hit together CTRL-ALT-DELete, then go to the first tab and kill the appropriate running process.


If you need help with DOSBox or VDMSound then feel free to post here again.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 02:06 AM   #3
bcorz
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 2
Default

I figured out how to run dos box. Thanks foir the help
bcorz is offline                         Send a private message to bcorz
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 03:00 AM   #4
Reaperman
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 35
Default

My personal opinion; Ditch Simcity 2000, download SimCity 3000!!!
Reaperman is offline                         Send a private message to Reaperman
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 03:05 AM   #5
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Since it's not featured on the site I can pretty well guess that it is not ABW Reaperman. Else we would already have it.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sim City 2000 configuration RettMikhal Troubleshooting 1 21-04-2008 02:24 PM
Sim City 3000 running slow Tulac Troubleshooting 18 05-01-2008 05:31 PM
Sim City 2000 - Not Recognizing Graphics Card Guest_Neil Troubleshooting 1 13-03-2005 05:05 PM
Running Sim City 2000 On Xp pr Troubleshooting 6 06-02-2005 02:54 AM
Sim City 2000 ashley6943 Troubleshooting 1 05-02-2005 06:24 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 01:03 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.