Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Blah, blah, blah...
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2007, 10:46 PM   #1
nace
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Kavadarci, Macedonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of
Posts: 78
Default

OK. Here`s my contribution to the society:

I just learned this, and it works.

1.Type about:config into the address bar and hit return. Scroll down and look for the following entries:

network.http.pipelining network.http.proxy.pipelining network.http.pipelining.maxrequests

Normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a time. When you enable pipelining it will make several at once, which really speeds up page loading.
__________________________________________________ ______________
2. Alter the entries as follows:

Set network.http.pipelining to true

Set network.http.proxy.pipelining to true

Set network.http.pipelining.maxrequests to a maximum value of "8". But DO NOT set a number larger than that.

It`s about this thing called "pipelining". A fellow over there explained the thing:

Quote:
Pipelining was possible in firefox since ages now, but somehow no one ever thought hat enabling it by default and puttin a value of 8 would help..
Btw, 30 is way too more and might break your connection to the website (weak packets dying) thus giving you slowdowns. Using 8 should be enough.

Btw, pipelining doesn't mean making more connections to a website, but mostly like cutting 1 connection in X parts.



I'll try to explain why 30 is a bit too much. This is explained in a childish way and doesn't exactly reflect reality:
Polobunny pipeling bedtime story for kids
First, firefox cuts the connection in 30, sending 30 scavenger bots retreive data.
Fact: Some scavenger bots are bigger, thus slower.
The smaller bots are returning fast to their base, while the bigger bots take more time.
Some scavenger bots can die of "horrible scavenger crash". The bot size has nothing to do with their crash, unless they are way too big (that almost never happens).
If too much big scavenger bots die (and all the bots returned) and the page isn't loaded completely, firefox will send 30 other bots. (doubling the process time)
Fact: When putting more bots they'll need to be faster or they'll die of being too old (again, this is a fictive representation)
Fact: A bot speeding at 100mph has more chance or crashing then a bot running at 50mph.
Scavenger bots all returned safely and has jillions of kids and lived happily.
End

So now that you understand pipelining, and if this firefox trick doesn't really help you, try to lower the pipelining.maxrequests number. If you rconnection is weak you'll get nothing if you put 30.
[/b]
A quote from polobunny - thanks dude.

__________________________________________________ ______________
3. Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name it nglayout.initialpaint.delay and set its value to "0". This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it receives.

If you are using a broadband connection (whatever this means ) you would load pages MUCH faster.

Thanks to Kazauya and polobunny.
nace is offline                         Send a private message to nace
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 10:52 PM   #2
Tulac
Union Leader



 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 1,867
Default

Tried that, never noticed any difference.
__________________
[14-12, 16:08] TotalAnarchy: but the greatest crime porn has done is the fact that it's all fake and emotionless, that's why I prefer anime hentai frankly
Tulac is offline                         Send a private message to Tulac
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 10:59 PM   #3
nace
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Kavadarci, Macedonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of
Posts: 78
Default

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Tulac @ Jun 4 2007, 09:52 PM) [snapback]292938[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
Tried that, never noticed any difference.
[/b]
Maybe it`s because you have a fast connection. Mine is slow, and i felt the difference right away.
nace is offline                         Send a private message to nace
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 12:01 AM   #4
sev7en
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Abruzzo, Italy
Posts: 27
Default

Did you try FasterFox?

Fasterfox - performance and network tweaks for Firefox.
  • Prefetch Links
    Dynamic speed increases can be obtained with Fasterfox's unique prefetching mechanism, which recycles idle bandwidth by silently loading and caching all of the links on the page you are browsing.
  • Tweak Network
    Fasterfox allows you to tweak many network and rendering settings such as simultaneous connections, pipelining, cache, DNS cache, and initial paint delay.
  • Page Load Timer
    A millisecond accurate page load timer tests the effectiveness of your settings.
  • Block Popups
    A popup blocker for popups initiated by Flash plug-ins is also included.
  • Locales included for Chinese, Czech, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, Frisian, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Lithuanian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish and Ukrainian.
sev7en is offline                         Send a private message to sev7en
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 12:14 AM   #5
nace
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Kavadarci, Macedonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of
Posts: 78
Default

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(sev7en @ Jun 4 2007, 11:01 PM) [snapback]292947[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
Did you try FasterFox?

Fasterfox - performance and network tweaks for Firefox.
  • Prefetch Links
    Dynamic speed increases can be obtained with Fasterfox's unique prefetching mechanism, which recycles idle bandwidth by silently loading and caching all of the links on the page you are browsing.
  • Tweak Network
    Fasterfox allows you to tweak many network and rendering settings such as simultaneous connections, pipelining, cache, DNS cache, and initial paint delay.
  • Page Load Timer
    A millisecond accurate page load timer tests the effectiveness of your settings.
  • Block Popups
    A popup blocker for popups initiated by Flash plug-ins is also included.
  • Locales included for Chinese, Czech, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, Frisian, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Lithuanian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish and Ukrainian.
[/b]
I can give it a try.... I`ll check what kind of minimum system requirements has though...
Also I`m not sure if I want to stop the pop-ups, since some sites REQUIRE them - like yahoo games online, some download sites, etc.

EDIT: I`ll learn a bit more about it before installing it - right now my firefox is working great, and I usually spoil things when expeimenting with these sort of things. On the site it doesn`t say will it affect on the system memory firefox uses.
nace is offline                         Send a private message to nace
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 07:02 AM   #6
gregor
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
gregor's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Agalli, Albania
Posts: 1,021
Default

my firefox reboots computer and causes heavy errors . i think i will switch to firefox 1.something instead of this 2.0 thing.

i noticed explorer behaves normally...
__________________
Crantius Colto: Fear not. You are safe here with me.
Lifts-Her-Tail: I must finish my cleaning, sir. The mistress will have my head if I do not!
Crantius Colto: Cleaning, eh? I have something for you. Here, polish my spear.
Lifts-Her-Tail: But it is huge! It could take me all night!
Crantius Colto: Plenty of time, my sweet. Plenty of time.
From The Lusty Argonian Maid by Crassius Curio found in TES3: Morrowind
gregor is offline                         Send a private message to gregor
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 09:29 AM   #7
Nick
Переводчик помаленьку
 
Nick's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Protvino, Russian Federation
Posts: 340
Send a message via ICQ to Nick Send a message via Skype™ to Nick
Default

To make Firefox work faster - use Opera.

I recently installed that browser and I think I'll be using it instead. It loads faster, works faster and even can mask as IE.
__________________
"Paladin work is never done..."


Nick is offline                         Send a private message to Nick
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 10:27 AM   #8
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,567
Default

Indeed:

http://www.howtocreate.co.uk/browserSpeed.html#winspeed
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 08:13 PM   #9
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Quote:
i think i will switch to firefox 1.something instead of this 2.0 thing.[/b]
I've never switched to 2.0. I'm still using 1.5, as I heard 2.0 is way too buggy. Been a while since it got out tough...
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 09:02 PM   #10
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,567
Default

Until now v2 must have been somewhat beta and that's why FF didn't updated itself from v1 to v2, even though many people updated manually, but it will happen in a matter of weeks I heard. Hopefully they will have sorted out the most pressing "issues" I've heard about concerning v2.

Eventually you'll need to update, at least once you hear v2 is bug-free enough, because as vulnerabilities are solved in v2, but not in v1 which will be discontinued, they will be published and so every hacker will learn about them.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firefox Day Bobbin Threadbare Blah, blah, blah... 10 06-08-2006 02:41 PM
Faster Modem Connection TheChosen Tech Corner 10 20-09-2005 03:00 PM
Make Dosbox Larger Without Make It Fullscreen _&#092;Magus/_ Tech Corner 4 02-05-2005 08:57 PM
Faster Download? Millosh_024 Old Suggestions 26 23-02-2005 09:45 AM
Firefox Puffin Tech Corner 52 09-11-2004 02:09 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 03:01 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.