Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-01-2006, 03:27 PM   #1
Grinder
Funkpilz Inc.


 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 476
Default

I hope this is the right forum, I was thinking multiplayer or technical stuff?
Anyway, here's my question: How do you play LAN games in dos? are there any progs to set your IP or something like that? I don't have any idea how it works. I
showed this site to a friend of mine and now he wants to build a dos pc, so that we can play against each other. probably doom, civ, dn3d, and games like that. So if anyone could help me with that, I'd really appreciate it.

P.S.: Mods, if this is wrong here, pls move it. I have no idea what section this belongs in.
Grinder is offline                         Send a private message to Grinder
Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2006, 09:55 AM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,270
Default

I'm not sure, but I think that you could try using a null-modem connection instead of LAN. I mean, that's only two machines...
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2006, 11:00 AM   #3
swiss
who's not Swiss
 
swiss's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Velen, Germany
Posts: 711
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by the_fifth_horseman@Jan 19 2006, 11:55 AM
I'm not sure, but I think that you could try using a null-modem connection instead of LAN. I mean, that's only two machines...
that's right.

connect the pcs via the COM1 port with a normal COM to COM cable. But I am pretty sure that DOSBox doesn't emulate these cable-connections so it must be two REAL dos machines.

after you have connected the two you simply need to use the Config program in DOOM and setup the link connection via Null-Modem and off you go having lots o' fun.

swiss is offline                         Send a private message to swiss
Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2006, 11:26 AM   #4
Bobbin Threadbare
Not quite dead.
 
Bobbin Threadbare's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,127
Unhappy

I think this should bw in tech stuff.

Aye, you need a null modem connection.
__________________
Bobbin Threadbare is offline                         Send a private message to Bobbin Threadbare
Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 04:15 PM   #5
Grinder
Funkpilz Inc.


 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 476
Default

I could try the thing with null modem cables. They're both dos pcs, so that shouldn't be a problem. I was just wondering how to set up a multiplayer game when using a LAN cable. Does it work with other games the way it does with DOOM?
Grinder is offline                         Send a private message to Grinder
Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 04:49 PM   #6
Gandalf
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by swiss@Jan 19 2006, 12:00 PM
But I am pretty sure that DOSBox doesn't emulate these cable-connections so it must be two REAL dos machines.
There are some options in the DOSBox config regarding multiplayer connectivity.

Code:
[directserial]
# directserial -- Enable serial passthrough support.
# comport -- COM Port inside DOSBox.
# realport -- COM Port on the Host.
# defaultbps -- Default BPS.
# parity -- Parity of the packets. This can be N, E or O.
# bytesize -- Size of each packet. This can be 5 or 8.
# stopbit -- The number of stopbits. This can be 1 or 2.

directserial=false
comport=1
realport=COM1
defaultbps=1200
parity=N
bytesize=8
stopbit=1

[ipx]
# ipx -- Enable ipx over UDP/IP emulation.

That looks interesting! Has someone tried to use these before?
Gandalf is offline                         Send a private message to Gandalf
Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2006, 08:19 AM   #7
t0mme
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 23
Default

Civilization isn't multiplayer. Only the CivNET, a windows remake of the original is.
Doom can be played over LAN, but don't ask me how. I've seen it being played on LAN.
For Duke I don't know, but check out this link: http://dukenews.fragland.net/portal/...hp3?category=5

It has two GREAT ports for DN3D (JonoF and Duke3d W32 (rancidmeat)), for windows that is. And several utilities to play multiplayer over lan or internet with those ports. You need an orginal copy of Duke (1.3d, 1.4 or 1.5) but if both pc's have shareware versions it'll work too.

Dos-only multiplayer, I know nothing about. I have a DOS and WinXP machine and they don't network together...
__________________
EVERYBODY DANCE!
<("<) (>")> ^(" )^ ^( ")^ v(,,)v
t0mme is offline                         Send a private message to t0mme
Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2006, 08:28 AM   #8
Bobbin Threadbare
Not quite dead.
 
Bobbin Threadbare's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,127
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally posted by t0mme@Jan 22 2006, 07:19 PM
Doom can be played over LAN, but don't ask me how. I've seen it being played on LAN.
Don't you need to play the N64 version and emulate it with that emulator that allows net play? (I'm not naming the emulator. I don't know whyy)
__________________
Bobbin Threadbare is offline                         Send a private message to Bobbin Threadbare
Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2006, 08:32 AM   #9
gregor
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
gregor's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Agalli, Albania
Posts: 1,021
Default

the easiest way to make the games play under dos is to have win 95 or win 98 on your computer. you need to connect them innetwork and then run the dos games you want to play.


for the mentioned games you already got osme alternative solutions that work under win XP. well here are mine:
for ID classics such as doom, doom 2, heretic and hexen you can use ZDoom. search the internet a bit. it's a free utility that makes doom run good under xp or win 2000. so all you would need to do is be in a network.
also if you own openGL graphics card on your game computer (which i think you do) you can try JDoom. this one not only makes the doom work under XP but also gives it cool openGL effects (lighting, smooth textures etc.).

there are some more old games that got their win mod (appliacations that make them run in windows). such as Red alet, maybe even Command and conquer, strife... i suggest you look them up online since they don't take considerably less CPU ussage then DOS emulators.

However if you have two computers with win 98 you simply connect comuters via LAN or null modem (LPT-LPT or COM-COM) and create a newtwork. then you start up the game. usually they had some file to do a network setup where you select connection type, number of players, type of game (deathmatch or cooperative) etc. (e.g. doom had a file called DMSetup.exe)... and off you go playing.
__________________
Crantius Colto: Fear not. You are safe here with me.
Lifts-Her-Tail: I must finish my cleaning, sir. The mistress will have my head if I do not!
Crantius Colto: Cleaning, eh? I have something for you. Here, polish my spear.
Lifts-Her-Tail: But it is huge! It could take me all night!
Crantius Colto: Plenty of time, my sweet. Plenty of time.
From The Lusty Argonian Maid by Crassius Curio found in TES3: Morrowind
gregor is offline                         Send a private message to gregor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F.e.a.r. Multiplayer troop18546 Mle Island 14 19-12-2006 09:56 PM
Old Dos Multiplayer Alkarion Mle Island 2 22-09-2006 03:00 PM
S.w.i.n.e Multiplayer troop18546 Forum Games 15 09-02-2006 10:51 PM
Multiplayer Clients Tulac Gaming Zone 4 08-05-2005 03:46 PM
Multiplayer Section DonCorleone Old Suggestions 19 07-05-2005 12:27 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 07:10 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.