Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2012, 01:30 AM   #491
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

I have answered that already. You are not paying attention.
Quote:
you will need to import the registry file
Quote:
Data from .REG files can be added/merged with the registry by double-clicking these files
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:50 PM   #492
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

The thing with this game is the registry file. You need to restart your system for the change to take effect.

Considering the way this guy have been asking for help, I already went over my principles by saying this. I will most likely not talk to him again.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 12:01 PM   #493
ils_bg
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default Issue with Transport Tycoon Deluxe

Hi,

I am using Windows 7 and have downloaded the Transport Tycoon Deluxe game and successfully updated the Registry. However, I get the following error messages when trying to start the game:

"The switch 'reducedsave' (-o) is obsolete. Please do not use it, it will be removed in a future version. Press Escape to abort, or any other key to continue".

After pressing another key to continue, the following appears after a number of positive messages:
"TTD is not installed properly (registry error 2). Press any key to abort".

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
ils_bg is offline                         Send a private message to ils_bg
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 01:22 PM   #494
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Make sure you reboot after adding the registry info. The game should work after that.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 04:01 PM   #495
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

The Fifth Horseman is right. Having to reboot to complete installations is all but a thing from the past now... But in the good old days it was the norm.

In this case, the registery is a file which is only loaded at startup even for modern machines. So you need to reboot for the changes to take effect, whatever you do. It is easy to forget or not to think about this.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 10:56 PM   #496
ils_bg
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Reboot did not work, same error messages appear. Any thoughts?
ils_bg is offline                         Send a private message to ils_bg
Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2013, 09:02 AM   #497
another_guest
Abandonia Homie

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: , Belgium
Posts: 675
Default

I'm also wondering; I used to be able to install TTD from Abandonia in the blink of an eye but under Windows 7 I don't get it to work either (after succesfully adding the registry key and rebooting) so we must be missing something.
It's not in compatibility, I've already exhausted those possibilities.
__________________
A sickened, sensitive shadow writhing in hands that are not hands, and whirled blindly past ghastly midnights of rotting creation (Nyarlathotep, H.P. Lovecraft)
another_guest is offline                         Send a private message to another_guest
Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2013, 12:21 PM   #498
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

A little research lead me to believe that Windows 7 run 2 distinct registry. One for 32 bit programs and one for 64 bits programs.

It might be that the auto-updating registry file is not updating the right registry (in this case it would be updating the 64 bits registry), leading to the same initial problem as the OS is unable to find the required marks in the right registry...

Now I'm no expert in Windows 7 or any other OS after Windows XP... But it would make sense to me for Microsoft to push their 64 bits operative system first and thus make it the default registry.

(Source of my findings)
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2013, 08:33 PM   #499
another_guest
Abandonia Homie

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: , Belgium
Posts: 675
Default

That does sound logical, thanks for investing your time!
They're really complicating things with the 32 vs 64 bit split

ils_bg: there's also a link to an open source version of Transport Tycoon Deluxe (which has even more options than the original) on the download page... and that works like a charm under Windows 7
__________________
A sickened, sensitive shadow writhing in hands that are not hands, and whirled blindly past ghastly midnights of rotting creation (Nyarlathotep, H.P. Lovecraft)
another_guest is offline                         Send a private message to another_guest
Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2013, 09:06 PM   #500
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Yes, it does complicate matters. However, if we can find the exact problem and write a new registry automaton specifically for Windows 7 then we'll get rid of this problem.

And I tried OpenTTD. It is extremely close to TTD but at the same time not exactly it. Furthermore, it is not even finished even though it been years in development.

Frankly, after trying OpenTTD, I don't really see a reason not to go with the original. Except maybe if you wish to try out extremely huge maps.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie help with Transport Tycoon Deluxe pettybureaucrat Troubleshooting 21 20-08-2009 09:17 AM
Locomotion Vs Transport Tycoon Deluxe Eagle of Fire Your Reviews 11 11-01-2008 05:53 PM
Transport Tycoon Deluxe Flashman12 Troubleshooting 5 24-07-2005 07:48 PM
Anyone Interested Fot Transport Tycoon Deluxe? unclefester Mle Island 20 17-04-2005 10:01 AM
Transport Tycoon Deluxe Ali Troubleshooting 3 13-02-2005 08:41 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:06 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.