Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2006, 07:52 PM   #1
Goodguy3
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 57
Default

whenitrytipolayagame with musicin DOSBOXon my win98 com, the sound is slow...it stutters, even..

actually, i think the only game that has this problem is wing commander...
__________________
Hello for my information ration.
Goodguy3 is offline                         Send a private message to Goodguy3
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 08:07 PM   #2
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

You should have no need of DOSBox with Win98. Try to run the game in the MSDos mode.

If you can't play the game, you can refer to this quoted guide to setup your machine for DOS gaming.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 08:09 PM   #3
Goodguy3
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 57
Default

how would iplayit inMSDOSmode?when i click on the game icon , and if it tells me it has to run in dos mode and i click "Yes",it merely restarts the computer back to windows...and im trying toplay WINGCOMMANDER. even on 98 it runs at twice the speed of light X_X;
__________________
Hello for my information ration.
Goodguy3 is offline                         Send a private message to Goodguy3
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 08:17 PM   #4
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Go to Start button, select restart and when prompted for it select reboot in MSDOS mode.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 08:22 PM   #5
Goodguy3
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 57
Default

QUOTE(Eagle of Fire @ Jun 7 2006, 04:17 PM) [snapback]235072[/snapback]
Quote:
Go to Start button, select restart and when prompted for it select reboot in MSDOS mode.
[/b]
i just got back from doing that....WC still ran at twice the speedof light* and the sounds were hurried.









*unplayably fast
__________________
Hello for my information ration.
Goodguy3 is offline                         Send a private message to Goodguy3
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 08:31 PM   #6
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Yes, I can beleive that easily.

For this one you will need a CPU killer like MoSlo and use it along with your program. Of course, get one which works in DOS and not only in Windows or else it won't work at all.

While you were playing at the speed of light, did you at least manage to see if everything else, like the sound, is working right? If yes then you should be pretty close to be able to play that game freely.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 08:34 PM   #7
Goodguy3
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 57
Default

QUOTE(Eagle of Fire @ Jun 7 2006, 04:31 PM) [snapback]235075[/snapback]
Quote:
Yes, I can beleive that easily.

For this one you will need a CPU killer like MoSlo and use it along with your program. Of course, get one which works in DOS and not only in Windows or else it won't work at all.

While you were playing at the speed of light, did you at least manage to see if everything else, like the sound, is working right? If yes then you should be pretty close to be able to play that game freely.
[/b]
ok...but...when yousay CPU Killer...?
__________________
Hello for my information ration.
Goodguy3 is offline                         Send a private message to Goodguy3
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 08:53 PM   #8
Goodguy3
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 57
Default

QUOTE(Eagle of Fire @ Jun 7 2006, 04:07 PM) [snapback]235067[/snapback]
Quote:
You should have no need of DOSBox with Win98. Try to run the game in the MSDos mode.

If you can't play the game, you can refer to this quoted guide to setup your machine for DOS gaming.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.
[/b]
the reason i have DOSBOX is becauser i want to make gameplay videos. i donytthink thatyoucandothat in dos mode..

QUOTE(Goodguy3 @ Jun 7 2006, 04:50 PM) [snapback]235083[/snapback]
Quote:
QUOTE(Eagle of Fire @ Jun 7 2006, 04:07 PM) [snapback]235067[/snapback]
Quote:
You should have no need of DOSBox with Win98. Try to run the game in the MSDos mode.

If you can't play the game, you can refer to this quoted guide to setup your machine for DOS gaming.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.
[/b]
the reason i have DOSBOX is becauser i want to make gameplay videos. i donytthink thatyoucandothat in dos mode..
[/b][/quote]
HA! another dillemma solved unwittingly! i increased the Frame skip in dosbox and now the sound jumps A LOT less!
__________________
Hello for my information ration.
Goodguy3 is offline                         Send a private message to Goodguy3
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Sound in MoO in DOSBox Ohma Troubleshooting 8 10-08-2008 05:11 PM
Sound Problem With Dosbox melthas Troubleshooting 10 21-07-2006 04:47 PM
The Sound Stutters In Dosbox Kurt Troubleshooting 5 21-04-2006 01:14 AM
Dosbox, No Sound. NikolausXX Troubleshooting 6 27-03-2005 11:37 PM
Is Sound In Dosbox Always This Bad? BlackMageJawa Troubleshooting 10 15-01-2005 10:55 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 02:34 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.