Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-10-2011, 05:51 PM   #91
Luchsen
Lurking Forever
 
Luchsen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bad Konig, Germany
Posts: 3,565
Default

Did you read this?:

Quote:
Originally Posted by the review
There are a few things to note as far as game performance goes:
- The music is missing.
- Unzip the files to c:\chaos.
- After unzipping the game, run chaosreg.reg.
- Games should be saved to the game's own directory, otherwise they won't work.
- If you are experiencing problems with the cursor, switch off the in-game music.


Apart from that, I can only recommend to run a 32bit operating system as virtual machine.
__________________
Luchsen is offline                         Send a private message to Luchsen
Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2011, 05:07 PM   #92
Borodin
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Borodin's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Medina, United States
Posts: 978
Default

Just for the record, there appears to be a Facebook page now for the in-development new version of Chaos Overlords:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Chaos-...18573421512394

Doesn't look like there's been much activity, though.
Borodin is offline                         Send a private message to Borodin
Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2011, 09:25 PM   #93
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Have there been any updates on its' state for last year or so?
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2011, 05:17 PM   #94
Borodin
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Borodin's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Medina, United States
Posts: 978
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Fifth Horseman View Post
Have there been any updates on its' state for last year or so?
Last was in April:

Quote:
While hacking on the CO source code a while back, I ended up throwing it out and building a new engine that plays the old game. I started the UI and realized how small a 640x480 screen looks on a modern computer. I tried scaling 2x, but it looks like crap. So, I've been contemplating making a hybrid by grafting the stronger features of the CO2 design onto the new engine. Any opinions or ideas?
They don't seem to post much, which is foolish if you're going to maintain an FB page, since that's pretty much it's main function: establishing and keeping contact with others.
Borodin is offline                         Send a private message to Borodin
Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2011, 12:13 AM   #95
Ragnoff
Guest
Default Cant get it working

well that almost worked. I downloaded VMware and installed a Windows 98 operating system. Move the game into the virtual machine, and was able to play for a couple hours. Next day tried to play again and started getting the "funky" error when it's unable to load files. This completely crashed the system for the most part. I get the option to start a new game or open an old game but I can't see anything and any choices made here crash the system.

I don't have any saved games at this point, as I deleted the entire folder several times, clean the registry several times, and re-copied the chaos folder that originally worked back over to the virtual machine. Now nothing seems to work!

Very frustrated, anyone have any ideas?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2011, 06:40 AM   #96
Borodin
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Borodin's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Medina, United States
Posts: 978
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Fifth Horseman View Post
Have there been any updates on its' state for last year or so?
Not since April. I frankly wouldn't have expected many, but if they were going to start a FB page, they should have realized that people would use it to, well, communicate.
Borodin is offline                         Send a private message to Borodin
Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2011, 12:16 AM   #97
marzzbar
Newbie

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rowena, Australia
Posts: 6
Default

Ragnoff: I've gotten the funky error before when I've saved the game outside of the folder. My chaos installation is in C:\Chaos, and by default the game tries to save in My Documents or something, so make sure you manually change the location to C:\Chaos or whatever
marzzbar is offline                         Send a private message to marzzbar
Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2012, 02:09 PM   #98
Lykurgos
Newbie
 
Lykurgos's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ,
Posts: 9
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragnoff View Post
I am running a 64 bit windows 7 home edition and I cannot get this to run. I have set compatibility to win95, done the fullscreen fix suggested above to set it as a window, I am not sure what else to do. As someone said it is a win95 games so I cannot run it in DOSbox to my knowledge.

Has anyone gotten this to run in a 64 bit environment, hopefully window 7?
I appreciate I'm somewhat late but hey, this is also an old game, improves with age and the absence of a reboot right?

I have the game working well, including saving and restoring save games, on a Windows 7 64 bit installation.

The one and only thing I've done to achieve this is run the game via D-Fend Reloaded. In detail what I did was:

1. Install D-Fend Reloaded (I used a portable installation)
2. Manually created a game folder for Chaos Overlords in the D-Fend Virtual HD folder
3. Unzipped the content of the archive for Chaos Overlords downloaded from this site
4. Used Profile > Add Manually within D-Fend Reloaded and told it to run Chaos Overlords.exe
5. In game, disabled the music to prevent the flickering cursor
6. Set my windows taskbar to auto-hide, so that it did not obscure part of the gaming screen (I can only run fullscreen, haven't managed to run inside a window yet)
Lykurgos is offline                         Send a private message to Lykurgos
Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2012, 07:07 PM   #99
Lykurgos
Newbie
 
Lykurgos's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ,
Posts: 9
Default

Does anyone know of a location from which the soundtrack for Chaos Overlords can be downloaded? I've been listening to the individual tracks on Youtube, and by gosh they are stunning.
Lykurgos is offline                         Send a private message to Lykurgos
Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2012, 01:46 AM   #100
guest
Guest
Default CO soundtrack

I would also love to get the soundtrack for this game. I downloaded a file that said it was the full game with the soundtrack included. But I cant get the music working or even find the files.
                       
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chaos Overlords problem AngryBeard Troubleshooting 13 22-10-2011 06:09 AM
Chaos Overlords eSK_AvuS Troubleshooting 6 11-06-2010 12:22 PM
Chaos Overlords Paco C 2 21-10-2009 10:36 PM
Chaos Overlords DakaSha Forum Games 15 07-12-2006 02:03 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:26 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.