Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-04-2004, 07:09 AM   #1
Anonymous
Guest
Default Mortal Kombat

Hello, I downloaded MK1 and for some reason I have no sound. Any suggestions on what this problem might be and how I can fix it?? Help is very appreciated, thank you. Oh, and I don't know if this is possible, but is there anyway I can change the control settings?? I'm new to this whole thing so I don't know much. Thanks again.
J.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2004, 08:01 AM   #2
Danny252
I have a custom title!

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Telford, England
Posts: 1,303
Default

What are your system specs(XP, 2000), and how do you run your game(Dosbox, restarting into DOS, ect.)
__________________
I liked the old forum.. =/
Danny252 is offline                         Send a private message to Danny252
Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2004, 10:18 PM   #3
Anonymous
Guest
Default

xp, and I just click on the little dos icon that says MK for mortal kombat. I can play the game just fine, just no sound.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2004, 06:46 AM   #4
Danny252
I have a custom title!

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Telford, England
Posts: 1,303
Default

Try downloading DosBos and run it with that. Just search for dosbox to find it.
__________________
I liked the old forum.. =/
Danny252 is offline                         Send a private message to Danny252
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2004, 09:45 PM   #5
Anonymous
Guest
Default

Ok. I downloaded dosbox, but how exactly do I run MK in it?? I'm not understanding how to use dosbox. Thanks.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2004, 09:55 AM   #6
The Niles
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 1,578
Default

You could also try VDMsound since it is probably the lack of DOS sound drivers in XP that is causing the problem.
DOSBox needs some experience to use properly but there is a nice overview of what to do here, http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=2502

VDMSound can be found here, http://www.ece.mcgill.ca/~vromas/vdmsound/ or here http://sourceforge.net/projects/vdmsound/

Happy Gaming,

The Picard
__________________
Rabyd Rev -- 2 Timothy 2:15
The Niles is offline                         Send a private message to The Niles
Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2004, 04:06 PM   #7
Danny252
I have a custom title!

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Telford, England
Posts: 1,303
Default

da-da-da-da da daaa! Dosboxxxxxxxxxxx Powerrrrrrrrrrr!
well how to use dosbox for novices. Type this:
Mount C YourDrive:\Yourdirectory
C:
the program you want to run. You dont have to include .exe or .bat most of the time
afterwards type exit to exit dosbox. And be polite.
so I wanna play Sopwith2:
Mount C G:\oldies\Sopwith2
C:
Sopwith2
Now I play the game
Exit dosbox Pleeeeeeease
__________________
I liked the old forum.. =/
Danny252 is offline                         Send a private message to Danny252
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mortal Kombat 4 _mzonas_ Approved Requests 17 08-05-2014 07:48 PM
Mortal Kombat Kosta Games Discussion 79 05-12-2013 05:40 PM
Mortal Kombat 2 Tom Henrik Games Discussion 176 27-04-2011 04:27 PM
Mortal Kombat Knight Troubleshooting 1 29-01-2005 04:42 PM
Mortal Kombat 2 gabriel_br Troubleshooting 14 19-12-2004 11:49 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 09:34 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.