Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting > Tutorials
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-10-2018, 01:05 PM   #21
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neville View Post
For my emulated DOS machines I prefer a free Norton Commander clone called UFO: Universal File Operator.
LOL,

Even on Win10 machines I use Multi Commander and I still have license for Total Commander (Use it since my Amiga days)

Zip bunch of folders, rename and change extension all at once - very easy with this helpful tools.

http://multicommander.com/

https://www.ghisler.com/

Total commander for windows works well on Win95 computer if you need to work with files.

Check 5th screen on this topic...

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=94690
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2018, 01:14 PM   #22
Neville
Game freak

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lerida, Spain
Posts: 149
Default

Yes, some of those tasks are hampered by Windows poor interface and even poorer file explorer. I often need to use other programs such as Fast File Renamer to gets things done. I would entirely replace the explorer, but to be honest I don't like the interface of the usual replacements.
Neville is offline                         Send a private message to Neville
Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2018, 01:27 PM   #23
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

I think I am more prone still to use them because they remind me of Dir(ectory)Opus on Amiga.



On DOS Norton Commander was tool of choice.

As for DOS version of LaunchBox, I wonder if Jason will add other emulator support, turning it into great tool for emulation on my old PC, that is currently boxed in garage due to pcem and other emulators. With last move I got rid of Pentium 100, but still have bunch of old laptops, 2 x P2 - 450Mhz end bunch of newer computers.
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2018, 01:33 PM   #24
Neville
Game freak

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lerida, Spain
Posts: 149
Default

Yes, a lot of those Windows Explorer clones retain the double screen interface of Norton Commander or DOPUS. I can easily see how nostalgia plays a part in that.

I don't personally keep old hardware around... I was happy to get rid of my old Amstrad CPC, my Game Boy and my previous PCs. There's something cool about being able to run everything from my harddrive, even with emulation glitches and all. I do understand the people who prefer the real thing, though. Nothing wrong with a garage full of working old machines.
Neville is offline                         Send a private message to Neville
Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2018, 10:25 AM   #25
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,858
Default

Sometimes you'd be happy to keep the old real thing ones, like for example you'll most certainly have some troubles running Knights of the Old Republic I on a Windows 10 machine, and most certainly won't get to run KotOR II at all.
Makes me happy I still have my old single-core Dell XPS M170 laptop, one of the last powerful gaming single-cores from back in the day which could run Doom III without a hitch. With Windows XP, both those games above run like a charm. Same goes for Baldur's Gate / Baldur's Gate II ToB. Overall Windows 10 stinks, but what can you do, time goes on...
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2019, 01:10 PM   #26
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

Back to OP post - were you able to setup hard disk for Tandy 1000? What do you select for sound, as there is no Tandy sound option for sound card?!

From what I know, there were 10-20 MB original HD sold with it, and later bit larger.
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2019, 01:23 PM   #27
Neville
Game freak

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lerida, Spain
Posts: 149
Default

I set up a 20 Mb. harddrive. It may or may not have worked on a real machine, but PCem has something called PcemHD, a virtual controller that helps with older computer models and harddrives.

As for the sound, I left both entries blank. PCem does emulate the tree channel speaker from the PCjr. / Tandy 1000 computers IIRC. I'm not so sure about the Tandy DAC of later models.

Last edited by Neville; 19-02-2019 at 01:55 PM.
Neville is offline                         Send a private message to Neville
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with Tandy CoCo emulation Neville Tech Corner 4 11-08-2018 10:01 PM
PCjr (or maybe just DOS) wizard missile command typing game ook Cold Cases 0 22-01-2013 09:58 PM
Scummvm Version X Compatibles Pipster General compatibility fixes 4 03-07-2007 02:14 AM
What is Tandy? FreeFreddy Blah, blah, blah... 7 18-08-2004 06:29 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 12:50 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.