Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting > Tutorials
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2010, 03:59 PM   #1
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default Win 7 64 Windows XP mode / VPC [Basic howto]

If you're on Win7 64 you already know that you can forget running 16 bits ol'windows software on it.
Solution is to install Windows XP mode and Virtual PC for Win7 64.
The program is to download directly from Microsoft, freeware.

First you need to download Windows XP mode and VPC for Win7 64:
(click on pics to enlarge)


Notice: you will need to validate your Win 7 to be allowed to download/install the software.


Install the stuff....

Remark: you need Windows XP mode nd VPC.

Run Windows XP mode ....


Some setup screens (you only get those at first run..)


Seen this one before ....


...and this, this gonna take a while, time for a coffee break....


Basic install with 512MB, you can adjust memory settings, highly recommended, some 1-2GB RAM won't hurt (if your host can take it).


That's a nice addition , it's now finally possible to attach an USB key/drive in your Windows XP mode


High time to run something ...


Oh yeah, a little bit sluggish, but it runs

(BTW, you'll need a pretty high end host PC to get Unreal running in Windows XP mode, just saying, but most ol'16 bit games/software will run fine in software modus).

When installing Windows XP mode you also have Virtual PC installed.
Let's try some stuffs:

W98SE


WinME


W2K


And this is just for fun you're better off with dosbox .....


[Edit 10-12-2011]
It's been a while now, had time to test a lot of things with XP mode under Win7.
Have to say it's a great soft to run old applications or use old printers that refuse to run-work in Win7, but for gaming it's a let down. Not that surprising, after all it was never meant as gaming platform.

For gaming purposes I advise VPC2007(sp1) with W98SE or XP, not XP mode.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*

Last edited by dosraider; 10-12-2011 at 02:38 PM. Reason: grmmmmmmmmmpffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 04:46 AM   #2
fender178
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, United States
Posts: 59
Default

It also works using Vmware player. VMware player will auto detect & setup Xp mode automatically after you tell Vmware where you downloaded/copied the Xpmode folder to.
fender178 is offline                         Send a private message to fender178
Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2011, 03:01 AM   #3
afrofogg
Lurker

 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Default Home Premium Users

So, I went to the microsoft website to try and download said software, and it tells me that I'm not eligible. Does that mean that it won't RUN on my computer? Or does that just mean that Microsoft are the greedy jerks I think they are and won't give it to me for free like they would if I shelled out an additional couple-hundred dollars to upgrade my perfectly fine OS to an even bigger beast?
afrofogg is offline                         Send a private message to afrofogg
Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2011, 06:32 AM   #4
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

You get what you paid for.
If you ain't happy with it contact MS and bitch there.

Of course, you could also simply down and install VPC2007 and install W98Se or XP in it. That works on a 'home' license
Even if you get a warning, simply ignore it.

And if you don't like MS, don't buy windows, enough alternatives, even free ones.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2011, 03:16 AM   #5
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,527
Default

This is the link for Windows versions previous to 7:

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/vir...l-pc-2007.aspx

As Dosraider said, if you have a Home edition of Windows you may see a disclaimer about not being supported, but discard it and the program works all the same.

I'm quite mad at MSFT because what they've done to us Vista license holders. Windows 7 has only very minor changes (its internal version number is 6.1.x instead of 7.x), it could have been a SP for Vista, but they decided to declare a new version as a publicity stunt, because Vista was hugely unpopular for no reason. All that is OK, but now not only are we barred from the GUI improvements in 7, we're also left in the dark with the new virtualization tools, and we have to make do with the legacy ones. It would have been no effort on their part to make the same program available for other versions, at least Vista which has the exact same architecture. Not doing so is their best excuse for 7 being a whole new version, and yet an outrageous insult to the people who put their money on Vista, which is their product that they sold to us, but they've spurned it.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:20 AM   #6
yoga
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
yoga's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Asenovgrad, Bulgaria
Posts: 2,519
Talking Yes, XP mode is great!!

Hi, dear mates,

Yes, I want to confirm the words about the wonderful XP mode option ... For me, the game Dungeon Siege could not start because I use Windows 7 Pro. But I installed XP mode and the game started .. Hooray!
Thank you.

OFF, sry,
But I noticed something strange. The game uses Russian because I prefer it to English. However, the text is in English, and some characters use or Russian or English. Settings lack the option to choose ... Strange!

.. Many years ago I bought a wonderful scanner ... But raising the OS it turned out that this printer had a driver supported only by XP. And I was forced to throw it away. But it had a huge scanning surface that today's scanners don't have. So pathetic ...


__________________
Do not make personal remarks - said Alice.
yoga is offline                         Send a private message to yoga
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu xx.xx + dosbox [basic howto] dosraider Tutorials 14 27-01-2015 10:39 AM
Dosbox 0.73 and Windows 7 [Basic howto] dosraider Tutorials 4 04-08-2010 03:30 PM
Dosbox 0.73 on USB XP/Vista [basic howto] dosraider Tutorials 2 02-10-2009 05:57 PM
Dosbox 0.73 and Vista [Basic howto] dosraider Tutorials 7 10-07-2009 11:34 PM
Dosbox 0.73 and XP [Basic howto] dosraider Tutorials 0 28-05-2009 04:27 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 08:08 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.