Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24-04-2005, 02:15 PM   #1
Stroggy
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cambridge, England
Posts: 1,342
Default

For the last few days there have been horizontal lines at the top of my desktop. I can't seem to get rid of them, they also appear when I play a game or watch a movie on my computer. They crop up when I change the width of the screen.

Any idea how I can get rid of them?

ps. I tried to take a screenshot of it, but they don't appear on screenshots.
__________________
pat b
Stroggy is offline                         Send a private message to Stroggy
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2005, 02:24 PM   #2
Tulac
Union Leader



 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 1,867
Default

What's your videocard, and also your monitor is it LCD or cathode?
What was the last thing you remember installing when that problem arised, maybe you should try changing drivers of your videocard...
__________________
[14-12, 16:08] TotalAnarchy: but the greatest crime porn has done is the fact that it's all fake and emotionless, that's why I prefer anime hentai frankly
Tulac is offline                         Send a private message to Tulac
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2005, 02:27 PM   #3
Stroggy
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cambridge, England
Posts: 1,342
Default

I've got a G4Ti4400 which, up till now, hasn't given me any problems.
I've already tried updating drivers and I can't even remember when the problem began showing up (I think I've had it for some time but the lines would disappear by themselves, now they just stay there... mocking me)
__________________
pat b
Stroggy is offline                         Send a private message to Stroggy
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2005, 02:53 PM   #4
konfliktPL
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lublin, Poland
Posts: 184
Default

If the lines are not on the screenshot, then it seems that it is Your monitor that causes troubles. Check, if You can, whether the problem remains when You connect the monitor to another PC. If yes, then it must be something in the hardware - You'll need to get it fixed.
Perhaps it is old; maybe it does not support certain resolutions?
konfliktPL is offline                         Send a private message to konfliktPL
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2005, 04:43 PM   #5
Caged
Game Wizzard
 
Caged's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fitchburg, United States
Posts: 265
Default

horizontal lines? yes, it could quite possibly be that your resolution settings need tweaking
Caged is offline                         Send a private message to Caged
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2005, 04:54 PM   #6
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

It could also very well be the first forward sign that your monitor is about to blow. Sometimes it take a lot of time, sometime not.

Try to adjust the height and other settings to see if it stop the problem. If not then do like above and try it on another computer. If you can't fix the problem get a new monitor asap.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2005, 06:45 PM   #7
Stroggy
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cambridge, England
Posts: 1,342
Default

Oh woohoo, my brother tells me to buy a new graphics card and you're telling me to buy a new monitor... this is becoming expensive to say the least
__________________
pat b
Stroggy is offline                         Send a private message to Stroggy
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2005, 06:50 PM   #8
Danny252
I have a custom title!

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Telford, England
Posts: 1,303
Default

who says you need a graphics card? this pc dosen't have one and I can run call of duty on it ^^
how on earth that works out I REALLY dont know
__________________
I liked the old forum.. =/
Danny252 is offline                         Send a private message to Danny252
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2005, 10:21 PM   #9
BeefontheBone
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
BeefontheBone's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 2,166
Default

Do screenshots take their input from the gfz card or from some point before that (if it's the latter it makes it harder to diagnose...). If they're always at the top of the screen independently of the resolution that suggests to me (though I know nothing about hardware) it's more likely to be the monitor. Is it a CRT monitor? They do things like that when they're on the way out.
BeefontheBone is offline                         Send a private message to BeefontheBone
Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2005, 10:26 AM   #10
Stroggy
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cambridge, England
Posts: 1,342
Default

I believe I do have a CRT-screen (compaq FS940)
However as I said, when I make the screen smaller (top and bottom closer together) the lines at the top come closer together (less distance between them) until they become one thick line.
__________________
pat b
Stroggy is offline                         Send a private message to Stroggy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Color Lines troop18546 Approved Requests 3 13-09-2007 08:49 PM
How To Make Html/php Forms Read New Lines? Danny252 Programming 2 05-01-2007 08:20 PM
Front Lines Strobe Games Discussion 16 13-10-2006 01:40 PM
Few Lines Under The Screenshot? Unknown Hero Old Suggestions 21 30-01-2005 05:37 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 02:34 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.