Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2005, 04:55 PM   #1
Master MC
Hero Gamer

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands
Posts: 403
Default

Today, at school, when I was using the computer, I thought: "Mm, lets play Life & Death!" Of course, I downloaded the game and DOSBox. But when I got to the point where I had to mount the location of L&D, it dawned on me that I wouldn't be able to play game. The computers at school are running on a network, so the 'location' of the game would be something like "\\{NETWORK NAME}\{ACCOUNT}\{Life and Death 2}", so without any 'C:\'.
Oh, and, the computers are 'protected', meaning that is shouldn't be possible to edit etc. system files or even take a look at them.
Of course, great disappointment. Any tips?
Master MC is offline                         Send a private message to Master MC
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:44 PM   #2
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Master MC@Oct 12 2005, 10:55 AM
Any tips?
Don't play a games at the school. LOL LOL LOL

Or perhaps try to add this at the bottom of your dosbox.config file: (after autoexec line)


mount c: ..\CDrive
c:




In this case you should have a folder called CDrive in the same folder where is DOSBox exectutable. You can extract game in that folder and use DOSBox to start it. Try this, and let us know if it work.
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 07:04 PM   #3
Reup
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Reup's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nuenen, Netherlands
Posts: 1,508
Default

Can you make drive mappings?

Try it:

in Windows Explorer > Tools > Map Network Drive...

just pick any (free) driveletter in the Drive field and fill the network location in the Folder field.

Check if you now have a 'drive' with the chosen letter.
Now you can make the mapping in dosbox to this drive instead. Should work fine k:
Reup is offline                         Send a private message to Reup
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 07:46 PM   #4
Master MC
Hero Gamer

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands
Posts: 403
Default

OK, thanks, I'll try it, and let you know if it works tomorrow.
Master MC is offline                         Send a private message to Master MC
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 07:51 PM   #5
punch999
The true Shadow President
 
punch999's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Celebration, United States
Posts: 1,195
Default

Also If you can put the game on the c:\\ drive. works for me
punch999 is offline                         Send a private message to punch999
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 10:39 PM   #6
mouse31e
Games Master

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Aylesbury, England
Posts: 335
Default

If you drag-drop to start the game - Dosbox will just make that folder C:\ and it should run!
mouse31e is offline                         Send a private message to mouse31e
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 10:52 PM   #7
Danny252
I have a custom title!

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Telford, England
Posts: 1,303
Default

Or use VDMsound, that's a workaround.

I know on my school computers you can't even change the display resolution. Heck, we get permissions errors when saving... Of course, no one gives a crap anymore, so we just save.
My folder is nice and neat. It has a directory called 'Junk', including links to that 'Feuer Frei' movie on the net.

Oh, then there's the censors... AV is just offlimits, ask jeeves has the only working image search and the feuer frei movie link is a reaaal workaround.
from google.
__________________
I liked the old forum.. =/
Danny252 is offline                         Send a private message to Danny252
Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2005, 12:40 PM   #8
Master MC
Hero Gamer

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands
Posts: 403
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mouse31e@Oct 12 2005, 09:39 PM
If you drag-drop to start the game - Dosbox will just make that folder C:\ and it should run!
This works. Thanks!
Only, the program is rotated 90 degrees... Stupid computers
Master MC is offline                         Send a private message to Master MC
Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2005, 04:05 PM   #9
A. J. Raffles
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 2,570
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Master MC@Oct 13 2005, 11:40 AM
Only, the program is rotated 90 degrees... Stupid computers
Indeed. Rotating the monitor by 90 degrees might do the trick, though...:P
A. J. Raffles is offline                         Send a private message to A. J. Raffles
Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2005, 08:54 PM   #10
Braindead
Abandonia Homie

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 663
Send a message via ICQ to Braindead Send a message via MSN to Braindead
Default

turning your head might help as well :P

your neck will hurt after a while though...
Braindead is offline                         Send a private message to Braindead
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
School Bus Driver marko river Games Discussion 7 17-07-2011 04:19 AM
School has returned. ianfreddie07 Introductions, Farewells and Returns 7 06-06-2009 11:10 AM
School And Me... hotty_green Blah, blah, blah... 53 07-07-2007 02:17 PM
School, Bah! ianfreddie07 Blah, blah, blah... 47 19-06-2007 02:50 PM
A School Project TheGiantMidgit Blah, blah, blah... 1 15-11-2005 09:14 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 09:17 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.