Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24-11-2004, 01:00 AM   #1
evilded
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 156
Default

I need a dos emulator that will run on my celeron 566. Dosbox runs way too slow and i need a dos emulator for so many oldies... thankz
__________________
Football's not a matter of life and death ... it's more important than that!

Statistics are just like mini-skirts, they give you good ideas but hide the most important thing!
evilded is offline                         Send a private message to evilded
Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2004, 03:14 AM   #2
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

What OS are you running and how much memory do you have.

Celeron is shitty processor, so don't expect much in there.
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2004, 03:31 AM   #3
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

You should forget it then. Emulators tend to take a lot of processing power and memory usage, whichever kind it is. DOS seems to take a lot of those when emulated, and any DOS emulator will require quite a better computer than you have right now.

And I agree Celeron is not made to play games at all. That would best fit a business computer used only to run Microsoft office and such.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2004, 04:00 AM   #4
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

I would not even use it in the office enviroment, as they tend to be much slower (thanks to small memory cash size on the processor).

It would be probably much better to use dual boot if there is enough space on HD with FreeDOS or MSDos7.1 on that kind of computers.
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2004, 06:15 AM   #5
evilded
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 156
Default

Celeron 566mhz
128mb RAM
WinXP Pro
ATI Raedon7500 (or somthing like that)

It almost seems like my computer is too good for these games, but not good enough for the emulators that run them...

__________________
Football's not a matter of life and death ... it's more important than that!

Statistics are just like mini-skirts, they give you good ideas but hide the most important thing!
evilded is offline                         Send a private message to evilded
Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2004, 07:48 AM   #6
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Quote:
It almost seems like my computer is too good for these games, but not good enough for the emulators that run them...
You got it k:

Better dual partition with a true dos environement like already suggested above. Simply installing DOS and booting with a Boot Disk should be enough, no real need for dual partition.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2004, 01:22 PM   #7
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

With XP from DOS he can't access C drive, so he will need some sort of disk space. But boot floppy is nice to get to that partition, now that OS is already installed. Partition magic should be able to resize partitions that already exists (don't ask me how to get this one , it is on sale in best buy - usa - for about 20 bucks).

Use moslo (or whatever is called that program) to slow down your computer, if you have speed problems.
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2004, 02:23 PM   #8
FreeFreddy
Guest
Default

For Dos bootdisc there's still need for a dual partition, except if your WinXP PRO HD is in Fat 32 and not NTSC. If it's in NTSC, better split a smaller part of your HD and format it in Fat 32. Then you can either use a bootdisc with Dos or install Windows 98 on the second partition. Windows XP won't recognize Windows 95 for including it in the boot-screen so you couldn't boot it then too.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2004, 08:39 PM   #9
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Sorry, I did not even consider the option that he could be running XP with such a low computer... :blink:
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2004, 02:19 AM   #10
evilded
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 156
Default

I partitioned my computer and installed DOS6.22. How do i access my games folder now though? It's at C:\oldgames\TESArena\Arena\A.exe that i need to get to.

C:\cd oldgames
Invalid directory

I am not good at anyhting to do with DOS, so thank you for any help you can give...
__________________
Football's not a matter of life and death ... it's more important than that!

Statistics are just like mini-skirts, they give you good ideas but hide the most important thing!
evilded is offline                         Send a private message to evilded
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Emulator Sonic Troubleshooting 2 29-08-2007 12:08 PM
Dos Emulator For Pocket Pc McMaas Gaming Zone 5 06-08-2007 12:27 PM
Online Nes Emulator! Reup Gaming Zone 18 28-05-2007 10:05 PM
Amiga Emulator lethe Troubleshooting 5 24-05-2005 10:33 PM
Trouble With My Emulator Caged Tech Corner 9 09-04-2005 02:09 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 11:26 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.