Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-11-2004, 07:26 AM   #1
evilded
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 156
Thumbs up

:help: when i open S2.exe it says
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
16 bit MS-DOS Subsystem
?F.exe
The system cannot open COM2 port requested by the application.Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.
Close/Ignore
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Now i know that COM2 port is for a modem, so whats Settlers 2 need it for? Whatever though, i press ignore and it loads up, but the mouse pointer is stuck in the top left corner adn no buttons do anything.

I have updated my mouse driver but no luck.

HELP! :help:

PS i have tryed VDMsound and it does not even load up
__________________
Football's not a matter of life and death ... it's more important than that!

Statistics are just like mini-skirts, they give you good ideas but hide the most important thing!
evilded is offline                         Send a private message to evilded
Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2004, 09:10 AM   #2
FreeFreddy
Guest
Default

Hmm, I had this problem with them too quite some time ago... First of all, did you try to play the game under DosBox?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2004, 11:06 AM   #3
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

If you say so. On my old computer my modem was on COM4. As long as I am concerned, any device can be configured to work on any COM on old computers.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2004, 01:19 PM   #4
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by evilded@Nov 15 2004, 08:26 AM
:help: when i open S2.exe it says
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
16 bit MS-DOS Subsystem
?F.exe
The system cannot open COM2 port requested by the application.Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.
Close/Ignore
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Now i know that COM2 port is for a modem, so whats Settlers 2 need it for? Whatever though, i press ignore and it loads up, but the mouse pointer is stuck in the top left corner adn no buttons do anything.

I have updated my mouse driver but no luck.

HELP! :help:

PS i have tryed VDMsound and it does not even load up
I think it tries to look there for your mouse.
__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2004, 01:57 PM   #5
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

If you're using a USB mouse you can have some sort of a problem.
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2004, 01:53 AM   #6
evilded
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 156
Default

i am using a usb mouse as a matter of fact.

it was working one day, with the same error message. i ignored it and it worked fine. the next day, nothing...

ill try dosbox (cross fingers)

thers somthing that puzzles me tho...

when the error message comes up, behind it in the dos window it says mousedriver COM1 detected



__________________
Football's not a matter of life and death ... it's more important than that!

Statistics are just like mini-skirts, they give you good ideas but hide the most important thing!
evilded is offline                         Send a private message to evilded
Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2004, 02:26 AM   #7
evilded
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 156
Default

k now dosbox is confusing me (LOL sorry)

Z:\>mount c c:\oldgames
C:\>cd settlers2
unable to change to: settlers2

??? i am incredibly inept and lost here ???
:help:


__________________
Football's not a matter of life and death ... it's more important than that!

Statistics are just like mini-skirts, they give you good ideas but hide the most important thing!
evilded is offline                         Send a private message to evilded
Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2004, 01:07 PM   #8
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

Try to type DIR before cd.

DOSBox is using old FAT16 file system, so naming of the filaes is short.

I think you'll see your folder as SETTLE~1

So try cd Settle~1
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2004, 07:57 AM   #9
evilded
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 156
Thumbs down

k ive given up on settlers 2, its pissing me off and it isnt even worth the effort...

now im trying to use dosbox to run x-com and i cant get it to install. I downloaded it from this site and unzipped to C:\oldgames. Well it has 8 files:

Install.exe
Mspcopy.exe
pkunzjr.exe
tftd.001
Install neromix media file(?)
install.gif
mpslabs.idx
readme

What the heck do i do? Install doesnt work, mpscopy doesnt do sh*t, and pkunzjr doesnt do anything...

TFTD.001 is the biggest file at about 4mb, but what do i run it with?? HELP

PS:thanx anubis, but try not to make the rest of us look TOO stupid now LOL jk
__________________
Football's not a matter of life and death ... it's more important than that!

Statistics are just like mini-skirts, they give you good ideas but hide the most important thing!
evilded is offline                         Send a private message to evilded
Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2004, 08:58 AM   #10
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Your zip file is obviously broken or corrupted. I just downloaded UFO: Ennemy Unknown from Abadonia and it gives me 20 folders and 3 files, which 2 of them are executables to start the game.

Actually, I have no idea from where the files you are talking about might be coming from. I doubt you unzipped the file coming from Abadonia at all. You should doublecheck this.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Settlers 2 Gold Kosta Games Discussion 395 10-09-2013 12:46 PM
Settlers 2 Gold... Rai Old Suggestions 4 13-06-2006 10:08 PM
Settlers 2 Gold constanzadrel Troubleshooting 1 02-08-2005 11:08 AM
Sim Tower - Settlers 2 Gold Guest_Peter Troubleshooting 2 15-03-2005 10:54 PM
Settlers 2 Gold sembay Troubleshooting 1 16-11-2004 03:41 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 07:21 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.