Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Community News & Feedback > Old Suggestions
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-07-2007, 11:15 AM   #1
Mighty Midget
Pox Vobiscum
 
Mighty Midget's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Krakeroy, Norway
Posts: 3,014
Default

If the DOSBox configuration file is the same for all PCs, then how about offering a standarized config autoexec, and make it PERFECTLY clear that the ONLY thing the newbies have to do is to create a folder with a GIVEN name at a GIVEN location for them to unzip their games into?

Let's say for instance:
"Before you copy and paste these lines into your DOSBox config file, at the END, BELOW the line that says "autoexec", MAKE SURE you have created a folder on your C: drive named Dosgames, so that you have a C:\Dosgame folder."

Then have the copy/paste lines ready for all.

Of course, any often occurring problems that can be standarized can be addressed this way.
__________________
Je Suis Charlie
Mighty Midget is offline                         Send a private message to Mighty Midget
Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 11:28 AM   #2
Sebatianos
[BANNED]
 
Sebatianos's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ljutomer, Slovenia
Posts: 3,883
Default

Or even easier - make a default folder to which DOSBox mounts automatically.

Upon instalation you have to choose where you want to install DOSBox anyway. How about if intalation creats a DOSGAMES folder on the same drive?

All that would be needed then is to say that every game should simply be placed in that folder and that's it.

On the subject, I've just made something like DOSBox for dummies and sent it to Data (our contact with the DOSBox developing team - I think he has quite a lot of influence on the DOSBox project) trying to cover the most basic steps to run games with DOSBox.

DOSBox for (gamer) dummies
Sebatianos is offline                         Send a private message to Sebatianos
Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 11:29 AM   #3
Mighty Midget
Pox Vobiscum
 
Mighty Midget's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Krakeroy, Norway
Posts: 3,014
Default

That ought to do the trick Nice one.
__________________
Je Suis Charlie
Mighty Midget is offline                         Send a private message to Mighty Midget
Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 11:33 AM   #4
Sebatianos
[BANNED]
 
Sebatianos's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ljutomer, Slovenia
Posts: 3,883
Default

Thanks, I hope it helps. I'm seriously tired of typing those step-by-steps for individual games.
Sebatianos is offline                         Send a private message to Sebatianos
Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 11:38 AM   #5
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

isnt d-fend and stuff like that made for this? :P
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 11:40 AM   #6
Mighty Midget
Pox Vobiscum
 
Mighty Midget's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Krakeroy, Norway
Posts: 3,014
Default

From what I've read, d-fend and those aren't flawless but have issues that DB doesn't have.
__________________
Je Suis Charlie
Mighty Midget is offline                         Send a private message to Mighty Midget
Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 11:51 AM   #7
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Mighty Midget @ Jul 25 2007, 01:15 PM) [snapback]301270[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
If the DOSBox configuration file is the same for all PCs, then how about offering a standarized config autoexec, and make it PERFECTLY clear that the ONLY thing the newbies have to do is to create a folder with a GIVEN name at a GIVEN location for them to unzip their games into?

Let's say for instance:
"Before you copy and paste these lines into your DOSBox config file, at the END, BELOW the line that says "autoexec", MAKE SURE you have created a folder on your C: drive named Dosgames, so that you have a C:\Dosgame folder."

Then have the copy/paste lines ready for all.

Of course, any often occurring problems that can be standarized can be addressed this way.
[/b]
I'd say... No. Not that the idea is bad in itself, but then we'll start getting hordes of newbies who DON'T create the folder and can't figure out why the hell DOSBox doesn't work.


Quote:
Upon instalation you have to choose where you want to install DOSBox anyway. How about if intalation creats a DOSGAMES folder on the same drive?[/b]
Not bad idea, though adding an additional step during the installation would be more flexible. In that step, the user would have the option to pre-configure the directory used as the default C:\ mount (and the installer would create it if neccesary), so that it is added to the autoexec during the installation process (along with the C: command to automatically switch there).
I don't think it would be much of a problem to add that to the installer, and it should help out most newbies with the very basics. Of course, more experienced users can also choose to disable that step and have fun configuring it all manually.

Quote:
From what I've read, d-fend and those aren't flawless but have issues that DB doesn't have.[/b]
As for frontends... I've tried a few, and DBGL seems to be the best one out there, all things considered. According to Data, it doesn't have any known issues with DOSBox, and the entire thing is really just a pretty and user-firendly config manager/launcher.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 12:10 PM   #8
gregor
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
gregor's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Agalli, Albania
Posts: 1,021
Default

the game install programe could search where dosbox is installed...

btw all these guides on DOXBox - they never meniton you need quite strong computer to run it. so if someone has an old 800Mhz computer and XP installed he might have problems running things in DOSBox...
__________________
Crantius Colto: Fear not. You are safe here with me.
Lifts-Her-Tail: I must finish my cleaning, sir. The mistress will have my head if I do not!
Crantius Colto: Cleaning, eh? I have something for you. Here, polish my spear.
Lifts-Her-Tail: But it is huge! It could take me all night!
Crantius Colto: Plenty of time, my sweet. Plenty of time.
From The Lusty Argonian Maid by Crassius Curio found in TES3: Morrowind
gregor is offline                         Send a private message to gregor
Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 01:03 PM   #9
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

maybe create a special dosbox version installer that adds that extra directory and mounts it ?
creating installers isn't that though. and it might be nice to have an abandonia dosbox installer which is compatible with all games or so .

Not sure if this is a good idea, just thinking out loud..
__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 01:28 PM   #10
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

I think that's a very good idea.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sim City 2000 configuration RettMikhal Troubleshooting 1 21-04-2008 02:24 PM
Dosbox And Autoexec Mighty Midget Tech Corner 3 15-06-2007 07:46 PM
What Do You Think Of This Configuration? efthimios Tech Corner 8 10-12-2005 11:00 AM
Dosbox Configuration Randygland Troubleshooting 5 24-08-2005 11:13 AM
Autoexec.nt Not Suitable To Run Dosbox Unable Tocd Guest Troubleshooting 2 26-11-2004 11:59 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 08:10 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.