Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2004, 08:20 PM   #11
BlackMageJawa
Game Wizzard

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: England
Posts: 244
Default

Apparently, HOTU only has a patch that wil upgrade the disc version to CD (VGA graphics and speech), but it says it'll only work on a legal copy. I don't suppose there's any way it'll actually work on a copy downloaded from here will it?
BlackMageJawa is offline                         Send a private message to BlackMageJawa
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2004, 09:40 PM   #12
gdp2000
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jumjalum@Oct 4 2004, 04:30 PM
There are 3 versions of Loom, the PC floppy version has EGA graphics, adlib music and no speech. The PC CD version has VGA graphics, full speech and CD audio. The FM towns version has VGA graphics, CD audio but no speech (it also has several close-up pictures of the people you meet which aren't in the PC CD version due to lip-sync problems). If the version you have doesnt run unless you use ScummVM it must be the FM towns version, although its a rare sight. Why you would want to run any game without ScummVM is a mystery to me though, since the benefits are so great. Do you need help setting it up?
No, thanks. I do only want to test everything when I get bored. This is the only reason I want to test it in dosbox. Thanks for the detailed version info. I wondered why I heard the wonderfull music and didn't get speech.

c ya
gdp2k
gdp2000 is offline                         Send a private message to gdp2000
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 06:24 PM   #13
Jumjalum
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Plockton, Scotland
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BlackMageJawa@Oct 4 2004, 07:20 PM
Apparently, HOTU only has a patch that wil upgrade the disc version to CD (VGA graphics and speech), but it says it'll only work on a legal copy. I don't suppose there's any way it'll actually work on a copy downloaded from here will it?
I dont really know, but it worked alright for me with a downloaded copy.
Jumjalum is offline                         Send a private message to Jumjalum
Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2004, 04:35 AM   #14
ianbasore
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, United States
Posts: 17
Send a message via MSN to ianbasore Send a message via Yahoo to ianbasore
Default

This was my first adventure game ever, back on my Amiga 500....
I finally got to the point where I could beat it in under 40 minutes...LOL
__________________
ianbasore is offline                         Send a private message to ianbasore
Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2004, 09:32 PM   #15
Pralev
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 5
Default

I simply love this game. I like it so much (I had to play it and finish it now again on expert mode )
Pralev is offline                         Send a private message to Pralev
Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2004, 09:48 PM   #16
Fluxy
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 31
Default

I tried it and couldn't get past the first few parts of it.

Long story short, the best thing to come out of Loom is the "Ask Me About LOOM" pirate at the SCUMM Bar in the Secret of Monkey Island.
Fluxy is offline                         Send a private message to Fluxy
Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2004, 08:27 PM   #17
Mickey Bitsko
Newbie

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 15
Default

There's also an Amiga version out there. And I have a Spanish language version that seems to have more graphics than the others.

It's enough to drive a man insane.
Mickey Bitsko is offline                         Send a private message to Mickey Bitsko
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2004, 02:14 PM   #18
AthaElvis
Lurker

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 1
Default

I downloaded this from abandonia, but don't seem to have any way of making notes? I don't know if this is because I don't have the security protection thing, and just click on anything?
__________________
Ísland rokkar!
AthaElvis is offline                         Send a private message to AthaElvis
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2004, 02:16 PM   #19
Iron_Scarecrow
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 1,390
Default

Making Notes?????????????
Iron_Scarecrow is offline                         Send a private message to Iron_Scarecrow
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2004, 04:58 PM   #20
Sebatianos
[BANNED]
 
Sebatianos's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ljutomer, Slovenia
Posts: 3,883
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AthaElvis@Dec 9 2004, 04:14 PM
I downloaded this from abandonia, but don't seem to have any way of making notes? I don't know if this is because I don't have the security protection thing, and just click on anything?
You can just use a pice of paper and writhe on it.
There's no option in the game to store the spells. You must write them yourself (if that's the notes you were talking about).
Sebatianos is offline                         Send a private message to Sebatianos
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I don't get any sound with the CD version of Loom. Lockett from Lemon Troubleshooting 7 09-07-2008 11:15 AM
Loom krypticn On site 11 23-09-2007 10:34 AM
Loom Problem. The Niles Troubleshooting 5 24-12-2004 09:23 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 01:30 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.