Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2017, 06:02 AM   #1
archdukegordy
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 2
Default Freak Show - Issues with QuickTime 1.1.1

Hi guys,

So I spent the entire day learning how to work DOSBox and I've ALMOST got the game working (it's called Freak Show) but I've run into a problem.

This is a game that's being run on Windows 3.1. I have the game saved as an .iso file and I have it imgmounted to the E: drive. A folder with all the Windows 3.1 files is mounted as the C: drive.

Basically, I have the game "installed" on DOSBox, and the setup.exe file for the game itself also installs QuickTime 1.1.1 for Windows. Now, the problem here is that, when running setup for the game, it says I already have QuickTime installed. However, when I click the icon to play the installed game, it tells me that I still need QuickTime, and that I should refer to the game's Read Me for instructions. Looking at the Read Me, there aren't really instructions for installation, but it talks about a file called QTW.INI that you can edit for compatibility's sake.

This is what QTW.INI says.

SPOILER


And this is what I copypasted from the Read Me.

SPOILER


So I'm assuming something has to be done with this file. I've messed around with the file a bit but to no avail. I've tried changing Optimizing=hardware to driver, as well as adding all the extra information and putting the recommended default values in the integer fields.

Anyway, if you have any experience with QuickTime in situations like these, I would greatly appreciate the help!
archdukegordy is offline                         Send a private message to archdukegordy
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 09:21 AM   #2
Smiling Spectre
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Smiling Spectre's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cherkessk, Russian Federation
Posts: 1,410
Send a message via ICQ to Smiling Spectre Send a message via AIM to Smiling Spectre Send a message via MSN to Smiling Spectre
Default

I have no experience of tuning QT, but I would suggest to uninstall QT (or delete QT files from Windows dir) then reinstall it again from your image.
__________________
Smiling Spectre is offline                         Send a private message to Smiling Spectre
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 11:34 PM   #3
archdukegordy
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 2
Post

Hello! Thanks so much for the quick reply.

So, I somehow got the game to work. I think it had to do with the way I organized my files. I had a fully set up DOSBox game that I had downloaded some time ago that included the game, Windows 3.1 and a configuration file to make the setup easier for beginners like me. As I was organizing folders to mount the C drive for Freak Show, I duplicated Windows 3.1, put that in a folder, and then put my other game folder (which still included Windows 3.1) beside it. So maybe it had something to do with the duplicate Windows?

What I ended up doing was taking the files that the image created during installation, and put that in the folder with my older game. I deleted the duplicate Windows 3.1 as well, mounting the original folder for my other game as C drive. I also mounted the image to the E drive just for safe measures.

I'm still not exactly sure what was causing the problem, but it works now, so I guess that's something. Anyway, thanks for your suggestion!
archdukegordy is offline                         Send a private message to archdukegordy
Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2017, 12:03 PM   #4
Smiling Spectre
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Smiling Spectre's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cherkessk, Russian Federation
Posts: 1,410
Send a message via ICQ to Smiling Spectre Send a message via AIM to Smiling Spectre Send a message via MSN to Smiling Spectre
Default

During installation old quick time simply scanning _all_ windows dirs in seek of it's files. So yes, 2 windowses with different sets totally could result in confusion.
__________________
Smiling Spectre is offline                         Send a private message to Smiling Spectre
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Show Me Already Mighty Midget Forum Games 63 29-06-2007 01:47 PM
Ms Paint Freak Himmler Music, Art, Movies 35 26-02-2006 08:15 PM
Quicktime = Mp3?! Bobbin Threadbare Tech Corner 5 26-02-2006 08:10 PM
Residents - Freak Show, The ReamusLQ Approved Requests 4 28-10-2005 01:38 AM
Freak? Rogue Blah, blah, blah... 37 07-04-2005 07:22 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 11:07 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.