Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting > General compatibility fixes
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2017, 12:16 AM   #71
hoopsdowntown12
Lurker

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1
Exclamation

Sys: RPi3 - RetroPie
Mem: 1 GB
Games: Civilization 2 (drive C or D), Storybook Weaver (drive C), but oddly not MSDogs (drive D)
Reproducibility of problem: Always with given applications.
DOSBox Version: DosBox 0.74
Solutions attempted: Attempted running 1MBFort.exe at launch with no success referenced here

When I boot up Windows 3.11 by calling windows.bat I can manually run Civ2.exe with no issues. When I attempt to run the command:

Code:
C:
cd windows
win c:\windows\runexit.exe c:\mps\Civ2\CIV2.EXE
exit
I get a memory issue "Insufficient memory to run this application. Quit one or more Windows applications and then try again," but only when attempting to run it with either win.com, winexit.exe, or runexit.exe, which is obviously preferable given I'm launching from EmulationStation.

I had 1MBFort running at launch to no avail, but I didn't change anything within 1MBFort.

Code:
win d:\DOGS.EXE
however will work

but,
Code:
win c:\windows\runexit d:\DOGS.EXE

gives me an error "Application Error Exception EGPFault in module SB16SND.drv at 0001:3193. General protection fault in module SB16SND.drv at 0001:3193." Do I have too many active drivers? Any way to check that out?

Not sure why everything works flawlessly with windows.bat opened with no launch commands but when I try to do it with runexit.exe it doesn't work. Thoughts? I'm stuck.


ETA: Calling a Civ2.BAT will work if I leave out the runexit part, but obviously doesn't close the program.

Code:
@c:\windows\smartdrv.exe
@SET PATH=%PATH%;C:\WINDOWS; 
@SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
@lh devlod C:\SB16\DRV\CSP.SYS /UNIT=0 /BLASTER=A:220
@lh devlod C:\SB16\DRV\CTMMSYS.SYS
@SET SOUND=C:\SB16
@SET BLASTER=A220 I7 D1 H5 P330 T6
@SET MIDI=SYNTH:1 MAP:E
@C:\SB16\MIXERSET /P /Q
@windows\win windows\runexit  d:\civ2\civ2.exe

Last edited by hoopsdowntown12; 06-03-2017 at 05:02 AM.
hoopsdowntown12 is offline                         Send a private message to hoopsdowntown12
Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2017, 04:01 PM   #72
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,263
Default

You should have a shortcut to WinExit on your desktop - double-clicking that will exit Windows.

What is MSDogs? I'll look into testing the other programs you mentioned.

I see you were looking for assistance with this on VOGONS.
Most of the batch file relates to loading the sound drivers. It's been over five years since I did this, so I no longer remember the specifics of why I put certain things in there (smartdrv, for one) . Probably was related to some game or piece of software I was trying to run in it.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2017, 02:16 PM   #73
tienkhoanguyen
[BANNED]

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 833
Default It just occurred to me...

I remember a section in the DOSBox 0.74 conf file where you can increase your memory! Maybe that might help out? Not sure. Just a thought.
tienkhoanguyen is offline                         Send a private message to tienkhoanguyen
Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2017, 05:36 PM   #74
Turbo Beholder
Newbie

 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Most of things that work under Windows 3.x at all will work under Wine.

Then again, USB/HID support in Wine is still under construction, so if you want to play with joystick, that's a problem.
__________________
And the creature making toothpicks of my five-foot patent wheels.
Turbo Beholder is offline                         Send a private message to Turbo Beholder
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Earthsiege 2 Install via Windows 3.1 in DOSBox - Share.exe is requisted holydiver95 Troubleshooting 4 07-11-2010 04:16 PM
Windows 3.1 in DosBox - No Sound holydiver95 Tech Corner 2 20-08-2010 11:23 PM
Dosbox 0.73 and Windows 7 [Basic howto] dosraider Tutorials 4 04-08-2010 03:30 PM
How to install Windows 3.1x in Dosbox from scratch Napostriouf Tutorials 0 23-06-2009 06:38 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 05:03 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.