Forums

Forums (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/index.php)
-   Tech Corner (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   I need to change O.S. so, between XP Home and XP PRO, which it is better... (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/showthread.php?t=18362)

Incappucciato d'Ombra 13-12-2008 04:54 AM

I need to change O.S. so, between XP Home and XP PRO, which it is better...

also considering that:

1) By now I'm only interested in internet and to play old games (at least 5/10 years old)

2) I'm not a computer expert, therefore I would want to avoid the greater possible number of problems (of any kind).

:sos:

AlumiuN 13-12-2008 06:57 AM

It actually doesn't matter if you're not going to be doing anything that requires a motherload of fiddling with system settings and other complicated stuff, but XP Pro seems to be better and have slightly fewer pointless user gimmicks that just take up RAM. Microsoft seems to be good at increasing the price on things after taking things out. :D

Japo 13-12-2008 09:56 AM

Pro has more features of course, although they're about system administration and you won't probably care. I have Home and I don't think I'm missing anything important for me. Pro is also more expensive of course.

The Fifth Horseman 13-12-2008 09:57 AM

XP Pro also has a number of additional options.
Some of these are in XP Home, but nearly impossible to access.

GTX2GvO 13-12-2008 01:20 PM

I have both..
XP home on my Laptop and Pro on my Desktop.

For YOUR purpose it doesn't matter which of the two you'd pick.
You'd probably need to use either DOSbox or compatibility settings.

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Fifth Horseman (Post 344845)
XP Pro also has a number of additional options.
Some of these are in XP Home, but nearly impossible to access.

Oh.. Really..

How can I get to some of those features then??

The Fifth Horseman 13-12-2008 01:29 PM

Quote:

Oh.. Really..
How can I get to some of those features then??